Songs for the embryo: Don’t stop Dividing

September 14, 2009 at 3:28 pm 13 comments

You should just hit “play” now.

Hold on to that lining!

Today was a bit bittersweet. Today we transferred one 10 cell embryo.

Why one?  Because that is all we had. Of my eight eggs, only two fertilized. Of the two, only one made it past the first day. The embryologist said to me, “clearly your infertility was an egg quality issue.”

I’m trying to look at the 10 cell as a good thing – I’ve read mixed reports online, and I need to cut myself off of Dr. Google. Seeing as how there were no embryos to freeze… there is no back up plan if this does not work. Super husband and I are already quite attached to this little guy.

I’ve been having mild OHSS since my HCG booster on Saturday night. I still need to have one more booster on Tuesday, then it is just progesterone from here on out. And a lot of hope. Come on embryo, don’t stop dividing. Hold on to that lining!

0914091559

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

Back home, less 8 eggs Staying hopeful

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lea  |  September 14, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Sending tons of good thoughts and hope, hope, hope!

    Reply
  • 2. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  September 14, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Thinking, thinking, thinking all kinds of good thoughts for you. (Oh, and loving the Journey rewrite!). I wish I could come up with more to say to you other than the pithy things you already know– one is better than none, it only takes one, etc., but it’s hard to come up with much. I recently read in a book that IVF can be considered the ultimate fertility test, and as your embryologist said, this can be the case with you– You now know so much more about what was causing your fertility issues. That’s no supreme comfort, I know, but it does give you more knowledge to apply if you get the chance to do IVF again. I know you must be disappointed to not have more embryos to work with, but at least this is a chance, a REAL chance and a good chance at that.

    I am thinking the stickiest of sticky thoughts and sending them on a strong westward current. Grow baby, GROW!!!

    Reply
  • 3. babysmiling  |  September 14, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    That is a handsome little embryo!

    I never had any to freeze from either IVF, and the first time we had 50% fertilization (2nd time because of that we did ICSI), and they never thought of it as an egg problem. More of a problem with the way that egg and sperm combine. Way to play the blame game, embryologist!

    Good luck!!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Lucy  |  September 15, 2009 at 9:13 am

    I just had a transfer Saturday. We were fortunate enough to make it to 1 blast and 1 embryo, but I’m still fearful of egg quality issues. The other 6 we were watching didn’t make it to freezing either. GL to you.

    http://bodydiariesbylucy.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  • 5. Beth  |  September 15, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Wow- that’s one beautiful embie! Our biggest was just 8-cells for the 3-day transfer, and it worked (I assume it was an 8-cell that stuck. we transferred 5). So, a 10-cell… bigger, stronger, more alive… that should be all you need!

    Wishing you fantastic success!

    Reply
  • 6. annacyclopedia  |  September 15, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Sending you the stickiest and cell-dividingest thoughts, and holding hope for you. I know it must be very bittersweet for you, but like Kate said – this is a chance, and a good one. Wishing for your little 10-cell beauty to stick around and thrive for the long haul!

    Reply
  • 7. Suraita  |  September 15, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Sendng good and sticky thoughts for you and the embryo!

    Reply
  • 8. Shannon  |  September 15, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Here from LFCA.

    I am thinking strong thoughts about your one embie….its great that its such a beautiful 10 cell! So sorry about the bad news for your fert report. That totally sucks, and I don;t know what else to say about it than that! You and your embie are in my thoughts!

    Reply
  • 9. planningdoesntwork  |  September 15, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Lovely embie!
    And I’m sending you all the best thoughts possible!

    Reply
  • 10. Chickenpig  |  September 15, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I’m with babysmiling. My husband and I had terrible fertilization rates, and it was all my hubby’s wacko sperm (sorry, honey). On our first round of IVF they retrieved 21 beautiful eggs, but we only ended up with two good embryos to transfer and two dicey ones to freeze. Egg quality, indeed!

    Best of luck for your one beautiful embryo. There is only one, but there is plenty of hope. Remember that in the UK single embryo transfers have become the norm, and their success rates haven’t declined one bit! Fingers crossed, and all that 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Pie  |  September 15, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Sending you many sticky embie vibes. Hold on, little one!

    Reply
  • 12. Womb For Improvement  |  September 15, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    I think it looks beautiful.

    Best of luck.

    Reply
  • 13. Dirk  |  September 15, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    The nurse at our clinic told us,”Think happy sticky thoughts.” Good luck.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.