Back home, less 8 eggs

September 11, 2009 at 5:42 pm 4 comments

We got back into town around 3pm today. Rough little experience there., especially the drive home. Super husband really lived up to his name… The sedation meds did not agree with me and I wound up puking in the car on the way home, then again on the side of the highway, and again once I got home.

Everything went great… the procedure was painful but not the end of the world. I think my HSG was more painful. All of the doctors and nurses were great and I felt really well cared for.

They got 8 eggs from 10 follicles… We call in the morning to see how fertilization went, but they told us to not be upset if the report was low, because they usually have people call in the evening. (Since tomorrow is Saturday, they close at noon.)

So, right now my eggs /embryos are in the care of an expensive babysitter from New Zealand, a place I have always wanted to visit, for three days. I’m looking forward to picking them up on Monday!!

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

On our way Songs for the embryo: Don’t stop Dividing

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Womb For Improvement  |  September 12, 2009 at 6:46 am

    How exciting. I hope a good number get fertilized and they find a snug little home in your uterus soon.

    Reply
  • 2. Simple  |  September 12, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Eight is great!!! Grow embies grow!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  September 12, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Eight is a great number! Thanks so much for your comments on my last post. It really is a crazy time and I am SO FRICKIN’ LUCKY to have someone I trust going through the exact same situation as me just a few weeks sooner. So. Awesome.

    And yeah, I really needed to be talked off that ledge. I called the nurse at my clinic to ask about the sudden weight gain, and she said that she was sure it was not related to the Lup.ron. (Huh? Day 4 of a hormonal drug, and you think it has NO impact on a sudden weight gain? Interesting.) Yeah. So reading your comment that it had caused a similar weight gain for you was really comforting. I look forward to seeing if the men.opur also has the same effect of erasing some of this sudden gain. Of course, I weighed myself this morning, and I am back to the 201.5 that I was on Wednesday morning, so maybe I’m moving back in that right direction. I will be watching my weight closely anyhow.

    Just– thanks for confirming that I’m not the only one dealing with this.

    I am so sorry that the anesthesia hit you so hard. It’s not one of my favorite things either. The last several times I’ve been put under twilight I’ve awoken begging for a Diet Coke, even though I didn’t want one when it was eventually offered to me, because I HATE Diet Coke. I haven’t had a Diet Coke in years, and years, and years. And I just don’t get that. I love real Coke, but why does my twisted, post-knockout brain seem to crave nasty Diet Coke? And why not Diet Pepsi? Oh, and I almost always yell at someone, and/or insist that they let me walk, to the point that I got strapped into the wheelchair once because I wouldn’t sit down, and I kept falling when I tried to stand. Weird. Of course, I would rather wake up saying and doing weird things than puking. That just sucks, and I SO hope you are feeling much, much better today.

    Eat chocolate (is that super chocolate place still open?). Relax. Let Super Husband be Super. I look forward to hearing about your fertilization report and am hoping for many high quality embryos to be headed for your uterus on Monday, enough that you have leftovers to freeze (or donate, or whatever you want to do…). Way to go! You made it through the most physically-intensive part!

    Reply
  • 4. babysmiling  |  September 13, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Good luck with the fertilization (which has already happened by now), embryo growth, transfer, and beyond!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

