Staying hopeful

September 17, 2009 at 9:50 am 7 comments

I am having a hard time staying hopeful. I keep looking at study after study about single embryo transfers, but they all cite having more then one embryo to choose from. The clinic did not tell me what grade my embryo was, and I am worried that is because it was not very good. Hence the 10 cell factor.

Whenever my brain gets too far down the path of doom and dispair, these kids pop into my mind and I can’t help but smile. The official anthem of my two week wait:

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

Songs for the embryo: Don’t stop Dividing As good as it gets?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  September 17, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Hey, now. You need to give a warning to us overemotional Lupron folks. I’m sitting here sobbing, wondering why I never finished my degree in music education. Of course, I then remember how much I HATED all of the bureaucracy of the public school system, and how I HATED the drudgery of putting on a perfect public child-friendly face day to day, etc., but this pretty much represents exactly why I spent three and a half years studying to be a music teacher– ‘cos music doesn’t care if you are the pudgy unibrow kid. If you’ve got the talent, and someone to foster that talent, you can shine. And all it takes is one teacher to bring that out in you That teacher can truly change a life.

    Anyhow, I’m sitting here, sending all the hope I can in your direction. At this point, you have an embryo inside you(!), which is so dang close to being pregnant, far closer than I’ve ever been. You let science do the hard part, and yes, it sucks to have to be so hands off at this point, but I encourage you to have faith that your body will take that lump of ten cells and grab it and help it grow into a baby. I mean, I say that, but knowing myself, I’d be super-control-freaking about the situation, wondering what I could do to help the situation. Don’t be like me, I guess is what I mean to say.

    It only takes one and as it says in the book I’m reading, plenty of embryos in *far* worse shape than yours are now walking around as happy beautiful children. So. Hope, hope, hope in powerful waves coming your way…

    Reply
  • 2. annacyclopedia  |  September 17, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    The hope comes and goes in the wait, as we all know. Glad you’re finding things to make you smile and help you keep the faith in the times when it’s ebbing. And know that so many of us are out here sending hope your way, too.

    Reply
  • 3. Dirk  |  September 17, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    I haven’t thought of anything inspired to tell my wife while we wait, so you will have to make due, like she does, with, “It totally worked. You’re just waiting for the official good news now.”

    Reply
  • 4. Womb For Improvement  |  September 17, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    I can’t add much. Other than to say I hope your fears are unfounded.

    Reply
  • 5. s.e.  |  September 17, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    I can tell you it’s not about the grade, the numbers or even how well the doctor thinks it will turn out. You can still beat all odds and end up with one strong little one.

    I do know this wait however incredibly long it feels will end and hopefully with the happy ending you are dreaming of!

    Reply
  • 6. burkey0906  |  September 19, 2009 at 6:54 am

    We have decided to only transfer 1 embryo when it’s our turn and I know I will feel the same way you are feeling now.

    I’m sending you happy thoughts and keeping my fingers crossed for you.

    When will you find out?

    Reply
  • 7. planningdoesntwork  |  September 19, 2009 at 7:59 am

    I did elective single embryo transfer, and, although I was one of the ones the studies talk about with many embryos to choose from so I realize our cases are different, I did get pregnant with my one embryo. It can happen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

