7dp3dt: It’s a food baby

June 28, 2010 at 10:23 am 7 comments

So I’ve decided that photos of my dog are good for distraction. We can just look at the cute photo and forget all about what may be brewing below the belt, right?

Riiiiiiight.

So we went to a little birthday party for a friend on Saturday, and I refrained from drinking but I didn’t really think anyone had noticed, seeing as how it was an afternoon yard game party and it was about 95 degrees and everyone was chugging water, not just me.

Then last night, after a big dinner, we ran into the same friend downtown and had a little chat. About an hour later we get a text message from her:

“Noticed B’s belly and that she didn’t drink last night… is she pregnant?”

Ah, the birth of a rumor. For the record she has no idea that we are doing IVF right now. If anything were a cue that I needed to start losing some weight if this cycle dosn’t work, that was certainly it!

I’m resisting the urge to buy tests, although I do think that I will buy a pack today after class. To answer the question from my friend IRL who reads this site (Hi Tor!) on when can I start testing I give you the following answer:

Well, I could theoretically test today with a sensitive test, but if it is positive I will assume it is still the HCG trigger I took 12 days ago. If it is negative I will start the downward cycle of despair, even though it is early. If it is positive today and positive tomorrow, I can start to feel good about it, so that is a benefit to testing today. If it is positive today and negative tomorrow, cycle of despair. Really nothing good can result from testing early. But still, I must, I must!

So, I would like to present a survey, when should I pull the trigger and test? You can vote for more then one day by voting more than once, but please don’t torture me by voting to test AND not to test. I have enough of that going on in my head right now thank you very much.

Entry filed under: IVF #2 - the cycle of hope and happiness.

5dp3dt: Officially going insane 10dp3dt: The end of the road

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adele  |  June 28, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    So, I voted tomorrow. Not because I think it’s sensible. But because this is the latest I was able to wait myself and, therefore, I’d be a hypocrite if I told you to wait longer.

    Maybe your friend has a second sense and detected a glow about you that is not visible to just anybody’s naked eye. I am hoping so:) Fingers CROSSED.

    Reply
  • 2. womb for improvement  |  June 28, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    I voted Thursday because it is long enough to hopefully prove accurate and also to cushion the surprise that you may or may not get on Friday. (But I only voted once so – at the time of writing – two other folk agree with me.)

    Reply
  • 3. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  June 28, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I tested at 5dp5dt, and got my first faint positive. Of course, I did so hoping that at least the trigger shot would still be in my system, because I so desperately wanted to see a second line on a test when I hadn’t ever seen one. Granted, I didn’t consider the test to be a true positive until day 6 or 7p5dt, so that’s why I voted for 8dp3dt. I am so seriously hoping this is the one!!

    Reply
  • 4. Lea  |  June 28, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I voted tomorrow. I always wait until 11dpo as I’ve never gotten a + sooner than that. I also think that it’s easier to hold off today if I tell myself that I’ll be able to do it tomorrow! I’m thinking of you and SO hoping this is the one.

    Reply
  • 5. Pundelina  |  June 29, 2010 at 9:53 am

    I vote don’t do it. Save your feelings for the beta. I’m wishing you get a positive.

    x

    Reply
  • 6. t0r  |  June 29, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    well I can be impulsive and impatient so I voted to test tomorrow (which is today!!!!!!). but totally understand why you’d want to wait. I will have to come check on your glow this week! 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. lis  |  June 30, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    waiting for an update as i am 7dp4dt and bfn so far…bleh. best of luck to you!
    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

