Managing expectations

June 22, 2010 at 6:26 pm 5 comments

There is a document on the desktop of the laptop right now called “managing expectations.” It is an article about client expectations that super husband is working on right now. I think it’s fitting, as the next two weeks are going to be all about managing some expecations around these parts.

Thing 1:  Progesterone is the root of all evil. The unique crampyness that I am feeling from the endometrin totally feels like it could be a pregnancy symptom.  Or my period starting. It’s 1dp3dt, so I know it’s not. But still. EVIL.

Thing 2:  As I mentioned before, my beta is on the same day as my final exam in summer school. I’m not sure what to do about this. I am thinking that I will test in the morning, or the night before, so I can manage some expectations. My folks will be in town, and I have told them that I can’t test until July 5. This will buy us a few days to get used to the outcome before we are bombarded with questions.

Thing 3:  The story behind Porche and Mopar. Yes Kate, a house divided 🙂 Around here it isn’t sports, it’s cars… But both on super husband’s side. He was raised part redneck but also has a taste for the finer things in life. On the drive down to the clinic on Monday we passed a Porche and he jokingly asked if we had a daughter could he name her Porche? I said if we were lucky enough to have a child he could have the liberty of naming it whatever he wanted. So Porche and Mopar were born, and when we found out we had two embryos that’s what SH started calling them.

Thing 4: How the hell can I be expected to take an exam while I wait for my beta?!?

Thing 5: Our neighbors came down last night to see how everything had gone. (they dog-sat for us the night we were out of town for the retrieval so they knew what was going on…) We sat together on the front porch for a few minutes and I held baby-stolen-name and patted his little head for luck.

Thing 6: I am still not expecting this to work. Managing expectations.

Thing 7:  I simply must do some reading for school. But I’m a little distracted and Martin Luther and the Catholics just aren’t doing it for me right now.

<deep breath>

Entry filed under: IVF #2 - the cycle of hope and happiness.

made it to pupo! 5dp3dt: Officially going insane

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. womb for improvement  |  June 23, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    I have no idea how you’ll concentrate for that exam. I just hope you’ll be distracted by a positive result!

    Reply
  • 2. Adele  |  June 24, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Martin Luther wouldn’t be able to hold a candle to the Progesterone-induced thoughts and very excruciating-ness of the next few days. I say: do the minimum for that exam. Enough to pass and occupy your days (if at all possible) but you’re dealing with extraordinary circumstances. And the combined beta/exam day…wow.

    I know you’re managing expectations – and I think it’s always smart. But Porche and Mopar look awfully fine in their photo and I am hoping hoping hoping for you (though, I’m also hoping your husband finds different names:)

    Reply
  • 3. Lea  |  June 24, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Thinking of you! I don’t know how you’ll concentrate either, but hopefully it will be for a good result! Sending tons of good thoughts your way.

    Reply
  • 4. Mad Hatter  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Sending you, Porche and Mopar big hugs and lots of good energy! Take it moment by moment and I hope the time goes quickly for you! Wishing you all the best with studying, too!
    Love,
    Maddy

    Reply
  • 5. Jennifer  |  June 26, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Mopar and Porche sound like something my hubby would come up with. It’s very sweet. I hope this time goes by quickly and you get good results on all your tests!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

