still chugging away

June 16, 2010 at 8:28 am 4 comments

I’ve still got 4-5 decent sized follicles at today’s scan. One was leading the pack at 22, the others were all hanging out at 15-18.  It looks like we are going to be on for a trigger tonight and retrieval on Friday morning.

I appreciate the reports of successful pregnancies from a small number of follicles. For me it really is all about the quality, not the quantity. Seeing as how my response is lower than last time with more drugs, I am really starting to come to terms with accepting my diagnosis of calling-it-quits ovaries. Of course I had been hoping to have a lot of embryos to choose from, with some frosties for future siblings, but I will take what I can get. My main fear is having low quality eggs that don’t fertilize, and not having anything to transfer.

I really wish that I could just hide under a rock and emerge in a week or so. I’d even gladly take the two week wait over this wait….   I can start hoping after I know that I have embryos! 

I will leave you with a photo of yesterday’s double rainbow. I didn’t hold back on the wishing!

Entry filed under: IVF #2 - the cycle of hope and happiness.

Quickie Retrieval report

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adele  |  June 16, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I’m going to take the double rainbow as a very good sign. And I do so agree with you about the quality vs quantity (though, I also understand that a higher number just feels like better odds).

    This train is approaching – I’ll be thinking such good thoughts for your retrieval, and for all good things to follow that. My fingers are crossed that you get those embabies on board, and that the days between now and then (and after…all the way to really good news) fly by.

    Reply
  • 2. womb for improvement  |  June 16, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Best of luck with the retrieval. Keep up the mantra quality not quantity matters. Best of luck.

    Reply
  • 3. Pundelina  |  June 17, 2010 at 9:10 am

    We’re in sync! I’m going for a retrieval of my 2 follicles in 8 hours (which is Friday morning here). I will be thinking of you and your lovely bunch 🙂 And wow – what a fantastic rainbow to see, that has to be good luck!

    Reply
  • 4. t0r  |  June 18, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Been thinking of you today and hoping all went well!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

