5 down, 6 to go – updated

June 10, 2010 at 9:37 am 2 comments

Almost half way there! 

Ultrasound went as good as could be expected yesterday. The tech couldn’t really find lefty, but righty looked good and all my bloodwork came back as spot on for this point in the cycle.

But but but…

The bad news is that I need to see them on Saturday morning at 8am for another wanding and blood draw. And since I actually go to a satellite clinic, that means that I need to drive an hour and a half to the real clinic. Which means I need to leave the house at 6:30 Saturday morning.

Ugh.  I was trying to be ok with it, because we would still be back in time to go to the weekly farmers market where we buy 90% of our groceries, and then still be able to go to breakfast with our friends who we haven’t seen in too long.

But then super-husband remembered that this weekend his dad is visiting his brother, a trip that we had managed to bow out of because we didn’t know where we would be in the cycle. But the clinic is almost half way to his brother’s house, and now super-husband wants to go for an overnight trip to see his family.  More so out of feelings of obligation rather then true desire.

So now my relaxing weekend of breakfast with friends and then writing a massive paper that is due for summer school on Monday has turned into a 4 hour drive with my drugs in a cooler to visit my in-laws where I will sit and work on my paper while they all visit and make painful small talk because no one really likes one another?

(Is it worth mentioning at this point that super-husband’s dad has Alzheimer’s , and that SH  doesn’t really get along with his brother? And that no one gets along with his step-mother? And that there is added bitterness because SH’s family does not ever come visit us, but instead visits his brother because they have a kid? Or that visiting his family always leaves SH depressed and stressed out?)

But, regardless of what may happen this weekend, I am grateful that I feel good enough to travel and that summer school is going well, and that I have my paper as distraction, so other than breakfast and the farmer’s market I really am not missing out on anything this weekend.

But tonight there is still plenty to celebrate, because tonight we will switch over to 6 down, 5 to go and will officially be on the tail end of the stimulation part of the cycle!  And that makes me happy enough to be able to deal with a crummy weekend.

update – After speaking with SH’s brother it seems like maybe we won’t be going…. they clearly don’t want us there, so now we need to weigh the stress of the trip vs. the feeling of obligation to see SH’s father.  Stay tuned….

Double update – With a little arm twisting, it sounds like SH’s dad will stop through our house for lunch on his way home on Sunday. Woo hoo!

Entry filed under: IVF #2 - the cycle of hope and happiness.

Four days down Slow progress

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I meant to comment on the last post, but have been busy with the parental units in town, but just in the off chance that your shots are still stinging, I seem to remember that it made a difference how long I waited between mixing and shooting the drugs. Sometimes if I shot up too quickly after mixing the drugs, it would sting. Also, if the drugs were cold, it stung some, too. I’m sure you’ve accounted for those factors, but in the off chance that you didn’t, make sure your drugs have a chance to warm up (if they were cold in the first place) and give them a good ten or so minutes after you mix them before shooting them up.

    Ah, CONGRATS on being on the down slope of stimming!! You’ve over halfway there!! Big deal!!!

    As for the visit with the in-laws, that sounds like it really sucks. I would be disappointed, too, if I had a nice, relaxing weekend planned. Is there no way to politely bow out? This IVF stuff is hard enough without adding family stress to the mix. And you’ve got a paper, too? Ugh. I’ll be thinking of you this weekend, hoping it passes as smoothly and quickly as possible!

    Reply
  • 2. Adele  |  June 11, 2010 at 11:23 am

    It sounds like things worked out in the best possible combination this weekend – you and your husband get to see your FIL but without any of the added family stress. I’m glad. This weekend, you deserve to have a calm, relaxing one.

    And you are more than halfway through the stim phase! That’s great. And while having to get up early on Saturday and drive to that appointment sucks, I’m glad that you get to spend the rest of the weekend at home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

