Underway

June 7, 2010 at 8:58 am 1 comment

The IVF cycle of Hope and Happiness is officially underway.  I had a mild freak out on Saturday night when I had to mix up my meno.pur, learn how to use the gon.al-f pen, and prep my lup.ron all at the same time. This was followed by about 20 minutes of feeling lightheaded after the injections. But the first days are the hardest, and by last night I was already feeling much more comfortable with the routine and all of the lightheaded-ness seems to have gone away.

I had a quiet weekend at home since super-husband managed to hurt his back on Thursday night. I attended to him on the couch, switching out ice packs and making sure that he had snacks, while I finished up some pending house projects.

Worrying about his back was a nice distraction from worrying about IVF, but I still managed to sneak a few in there, such as:

  • What if my egg retrieval is a day early and I get forced into a 3 day transfer when I really really want a 5 day because the 5 day falls on a Sunday?  (note to self: ask clinic if the do transfers on Sundays so I can check this one off the worry list)
  • I am pumping a heck of a lot of drugs into my body (fem.ara, 225 gon.al f and 225 meno.pur)  What if I overstimulate on my “last chance” cycle?
  • What if this works and our kid grows up to be a meth addict or something equally heartbreaking?  ( I do realize I am combining best case scenario – having a kid, with worst case scenario – meth addict)
  • Summer school starts today, what if my teacher freaks out when I casually mention that I will need to take two days off from class for ER and ET? (please note that I am worrying about this, and worrying about having ET fall on a Sunday…!)
  • What if they mix up my embryo with the experimental alien embryo and I have an alien baby?

Clearly I have too much free time to think. It’s a good thing school is starting, once I can cross the worry about absences off the list it will be a good distraction. What are you distracting yourself with these days?

Entry filed under: IVF #2 - the cycle of hope and happiness.

Remembering to breathe Four days down

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Adele  |  June 8, 2010 at 7:39 am

    I’ve had the mixed up embryo fear for sure…and about a dozen other equally zany (and probably impossible) scenarios. It’s tough – we can handle the injecting and the getting ourselves there for scans and procedures, but so much is left in the hands of others. How could we not come up with the alien embryo scenario!?!?

    But I am hoping that the next few days go super smoothly, all the way to ET and beyond. School IS a good distraction, and I bet once you explain that the absences are for medical reasons, your teacher is going to be sympathetic. (S/He better be!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

