One more trip on the roller coaster

May 11, 2010 at 11:50 am 2 comments

I’m not the biggest fan of thrill rides.

Not sure what to say about the appointment this morning. The doctor said “sure, lets try one more time with IVF before we recommend donor egg” and while I am happy to have the chance to have a bio-child, I’m also a little strained from the idea of going through this again. The doc believed that sooner is better, time is not on my side, and I’m forced to agree with him. No more messing around w/ a full year between IVF cycles.

I start BCP with my next period. IVF, this time with ICSI, in June. Here we go again.

The main difference? We won’t be nearly as nieve this time around. Since it can take 4-5 years, we’re also starting the ball rolling with adoption. I’ve got calls in to our local DSS to find out about home studies. One way or another, we will be parents.

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

And once more from the beginning… Here we go!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adele  |  May 11, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    Thrill rides are pretty terrible. Still, I think the fact that your doc wants you to try one more time with your own docs is a good sign. It means that he doesn’t think it’s hopeless. I’m sorry, though, that you don’t have more time to breath before jumping in head-first again. Fingers very crossed for you.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  May 11, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    The ride sucks, plain and simple. It’s great, though, that your doctor is optimistic about trying one more time with your eggs before considering moving on to a donor. Will they have a new protocol for you this time around?

    Also, I know it’s the cheapest of all the drugs for a cycle, but I’ve got an untouched vial of Lupr.on if it might help… and a shit-ton of needles, etc. as well. Any or all (or none, if you don’t need it!) of it is yours if you want it!

    I know that it’s a strain to even think of going through all the nonsense again, but you are one strong chickadee. I know you can do this! Hoping with all my hope that this is the cycle that makes you parents!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

