Trouble with a capital “T” that rhymes with “Pee”

April 13, 2010 at 9:04 am 6 comments

Right here in River City.

So it is 11 dpo. And I’m going crazy insane. The last two mornings I have woken up around 3am needing to pee and feeling nausous. And then I can’t fall back asleep. This is very unusual for me, normally I sleep right through the night.

I’ve not been wanting to test because of the HCG booster I took last Tuesday. I figured if it was positive it could be because of the booster. If it was negative it could be because it was too early. So I swore I would put off testing until my period was a full day late. Saturday morning.

Well, I cracked. I tested this morning (not FMU) and got a faint positive….  So of course I am assuming that it is the HCG from the booster still in my system. But there is some cautious optimism in there. Because I’ve never seen a positive before in my life.

So where to go from here? I guess I will test again on Thursday and see if the line is darker… or gone. Would that be a definitive answer?

Arrgh. We got trouble all right.

Entry filed under: IUI of Love, #s 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

one way or another The fat lady is in the corner warming up her voice

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adele  |  April 13, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I know that the HCG booster has meant big trouble for a few ladies in our corner of the cyber world but I, for one, am going to be cautiously optimistic for you. I am crossing everything that this is it…

    Reply
  • 2. Lea  |  April 13, 2010 at 10:44 am

    OMG. I really hope it’s not the booster. I will be thinking about you and can’t WAIT until Thursday! EEEeeek!

    Reply
  • 3. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  April 13, 2010 at 11:26 am

    I google-researched this question to death with my IVF cycle, and what I found were two things:
    1. The agreed-upon average amount of time it takes for an HCG shot to leave your system is around 7-8 days, with most agreeing that by ten days, you’re pretty much in the clear.

    I don’t know what the amount of your booster was or the amount of your trigger, but apparently, HCG has an average half-life of 33 hours, so you’d have to do the math on when your amount would be low enough that you wouldn’t see a false positive (depending on your type of test, that could be less than 50, or possibly less than 10– just depends on the sensitivity level).

    and:
    2. How your body processes the HCG triggers and boosters depends largely on your metabolism. Some people process it quickly, and some people process it slowly. I’ve also read reports that it can have to do with your weight, so if you’re a thinner person, apparently it sticks around longer than if you are heavier. Not sure about that last bit– just what I came across when researching this myself.

    I didn’t have an HCG booster, but at 10.5 dpo (so 11 days beyond when I last had HCG delivered to my system), I got the faintest of faint positives. I could barely even see the line, but since I’d never even seen so much as a shadow in that second line spot, I knew it had to be something. And I tested each morning after that, with each line getting darker. It was weird, because I never really had that moment of “Oh, Wow! We’re Pregnant!” because I never believed that the lines I was seeing were real. And once I did believe they were real, I didn’t believe that there were actual babies inside until I saw the ultrasound. Frankly, I still don’t always believe that there will be babies in our house soon…

    But I digress. What I meant to say with that last bit is that were I in your shoes, I would probably test daily, just to watch whether the line changed or not (this can be crazy-making, for sure, though, so I don’t know whether I’d actually recommend it or not). Because at this point, if the line gets darker, you know that it’s your body stepping up and increasing the HCG in your system, and if it’s getting lighter, then you know that the HCG from the shot is leaving your system and that you might get that positive later on.

    With all that said, I don’t think that Thursday would be a definitive cut-off point for a reliable answer, because you could still have HCG in your system, or your body could be building it’s own levels of HCG very slowly (remembering that a pregnancy’s HCG doubling time is 48-ish hours, so it takes a long time to build up to readable levels, esp. if the embryo was even slightly delayed in implanting). I would think that Friday or Saturday’s result might be more certain

    I don’t mean to invite bitchy Hope to the party, but just wanted to share that insomnia was one of the first pg symptoms I had, and the one that has been constant throughout this pregnancy. Here’s hoping with all my heart that this is also your very first pregnancy symptom, and that the insomnia is only the first of many delightful things you get to experience as a pregnant lady. Hoping, hoping, hoping for you.

    (Oh, and loving the Music Man reference… Trouble, indeed.)

    Reply
  • 4. womb for improvement  |  April 13, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Arghh indeed!

    Keeping everything crossed.

    Reply
  • 5. Pundelina  |  April 13, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    ooooh, this is my limited experience

    My IVF #1 – I had a faint positive 5+6+7 days after booster – they said a chemical pregnancy. Then IVF #3(take2) I had a BFN 5 days after the booster. My boosters were 1500iu.

    I shall be eagerly awaiting tomorrow’s test results – I’d do it every day and watch the line.

    Good Luck!

    🙂

    Reply
  • 6. s.e.  |  April 13, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Keep the cautious optimism and I am feeling the flutter of excitement for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

