The stars must be aligned

March 29, 2010 at 12:04 pm 4 comments

And I’m not yet sure if it’s in a good way…

My numbers from my scan and blood on Friday all looked great – A+ the doctor told me. I had a voicemail from the receptionist letting me know that I could do 3 vials of meno.pur through the weekend and to come in on Monday.

So, I did the happy dance of being reduced to three vials, because five just seemed like a few too many, and followed my instructions.

Today I went in for another scan and blood draw. The doctor seemed happy with everything he saw on the ultrasound, and then told me that I would probably “keep taking 5 amps a night.”

“5? I was told to take 3 on Friday.”

The room fell silent. The nurse looked panicked. My chart said 5. Someone made a mistake.

I guess time will tell weather or not that mistake was a critical one.

In other news, super husband lost his wedding ring on Saturday. We thought it was in the garden, even rented a metal detector to search for it, but no dice.  The dog woke up puking in the middle of the night. I forgot to do my Spanish homework. A banking error on my part coincided with a banking error on the part of the company that handles our car loan, resulting in us carrying a negative bank balance for the last week. Casa de Love is feeling a bit strained these days. It’s hard to be positive about this IUI when everything seems to be going to sh*t.

Maybe things will start to turn around, in just over two weeks. It’s about time.

Entry filed under: IUI of Love, #s 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

Playing with fire And now we wait

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adele  |  March 29, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Yikes! It sounds like the perfect crapstorm. Reading your post I had a moment of thinking that there would be silver lining moment, with the dog puking up your husband’s ring. Sorry it didn’t turn out that way.

    The medication thing is unbelievable, though my hope is that it can’t have made a huge difference if he’s happy with what he saw on ultrasound. Still, though, how infuriating.

    I hope things get better SOON.I’m crossing fingers that the bad juju is out of the way now, so that when you have your IUI all the stars are aligning in the best possible way.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  March 29, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Ugh. Suck, suck, suck. I really hope things do smooth out soon. I really hate feeling like I’m the “victim” of other people’s carelessness. And when it leaves you financially screwed, it affects so many areas of your life that it’s impossible to *not* feel crappy.

    If your doctor feels that you are progressing well, then a few days of taking two vials less shouldn’t matter. I would maybe ask whether or not, knowing that you’ve been taking three, he would still recommend you upping to five, even though three seems to have had the desired result this time.

    Here’s hoping that this is just the universe getting all the craptastic stuff out of the way NOW in preparation for your brilliant IUI result!

    Reply
  • 3. Mad Hatter  |  March 29, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    I totally thought your dog was going to barf up the ring, too!

    I’m sorry for all the rotten luck – I hope it is a happy accident that your dose was decreased for a few days and it’s just what your body needed!

    Thinking of you!

    Love,
    Maddy

    Reply
  • 4. womb for improvement  |  March 30, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    Damn, damn, damn I hope the three did the trick. But the doc was happy initially – that has to count for something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

