Two quick things

January 17, 2010 at 6:19 pm 4 comments

Thing #1:  I tend to avoid politics on this site, because even though I feel passionate about many issues I don’t want politics to be something that divides me from someone experiencing IF. Politics comes between people in real life so often, and I want this to be a safe space for everyone, no matter the affiliation.

But… (you knew that was coming…!)  I’ve been listening to the gay marriage debate going on in CA right now. And to hear people arguing against marriage equality saying that the purpose of a marriage is to conceive children and raise a family, well, that should really get all of us fired up, no? I feel as though equating marriage to the ability to produce children is potentially a slippery slope. I don’t think the sancity of my marriage is threatened by people of the same gender wanting to commit to one another, but I sure as hell do feel threatened by people saying that marriage is all about the ability to have kids. </rant>

Thing #2:  What on earth is going on with my body this month?  My BBT dropped a bit but still stayed moderately high during my period, then dropped down and stayed down. Today is CD 24 and my temps are still low. I had a positive OPK on CD 21. EWCM on CD 16… you can see my chart here… WTF?!?  I’m really hoping this isn’t some sort of wacky high FSH menopausal BS rearing it’s ugly head. I’ve written this month off and am just hoping that I get my period sooner rather then later so we can start over…

Entry filed under: life.

New Post Symptomatic

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  January 17, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    I probably don’t need to tell you that I fall on the same side of the gay marriage debate as you do, but honestly. The point regarding children and marriage makes me ridiculously incensed. My own fucking mother, Queen Democrat herself, in trying to explain why she felt divided about this issue, pulled this crap out about how the ability to have children was an important part of the covenant of marriage. At the time, she had no idea that we were infertile. But she did know several of her own friends who spent their lives childless (as to whether that was by choice or not isn’t something I’m privvy to). When I brought up the point that lots of straight couples can’t or don’t want to have children, she lost her shit and started screaming at me about how that WASN’T WHAT SHE WAS SAYING, blah, blah, blah. I just tuned it out, because I could see what a fruitless battle that would be.

    So yeah. In my case, you’re totally preaching to the choir, but it’s a point that needs to be raised and shared often, often, often. People seem to think that “ability” is only barred by a partnership with the wrong combination of “Tab A” and “Slot B”, but sadly, as we know, just having the parts does not guarantee a baby.

    Dude. That is a crazy chart. The one month I managed to chart in any accurate way, that’s pretty much what my chart looked like. Jacked up. I thought mine was my inability to use the chart or to accurately track temps (still possible), but I personally think it was just my body getting adjusted to the fact that I was finally treating my PCOS.

    Reply
  • 2. womb for improvement  |  January 18, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    I don’t understand charts so can’t help with that.

    Several of my gay friends have got married and even though it has only been legal in the UK since 2006 it is so ‘normal’ it amazes me that there was such a fuss when it was made law.

    It is like remembering when I first flew there were people smoking on the plane, it seems bizarre that it was ever legal, just as it seems odd that gay marriage was ever illegal.

    Come on CA – it really isn’t that scary, your moral fiber won’t rot!!

    Reply
  • 3. Lea  |  January 18, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Completely agree with your rant. It’s been on my mind a lot lately too. I just don’t understand why we can’t get our shit together on this. It seems SO OBVIOUS to me that it is the way it should be – as WFI said.

    I’m sorry about your cycle. It look annov. to me, but it could still come around. Being PCOS, I’ve had many o’ chart like that one.

    Reply
  • 4. Missy  |  January 18, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I agree with your rant completely. Plus I always say if you want to get rid of things that hurt the sanctity of marriage, shut down Las Vegas.

    Your chart is a mess! That must be so frustrating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

