Biding my time

October 27, 2009 at 9:24 am 5 comments

Nothing much to post about these days. We are just biding our time, waiting for us both to be healed enough physically and emotionally to move on to the next thing, be it another IVF or something else.  Super Husband is still really having a hard time dealing with our failed cycle. He had really invested a lot of hope in this process. I think he is finally starting to understand why I would not let him talk about things like baby names.

My body is definitely in a state of flux. Last week I had a fever and nausea for 24 hours, then my whole body erupted in a rash. Yesterday the rash was almost totally gone and I managed to celebrate feeling better by going ass over teacups down a hill on my college campus. One minute I was walking along, then I tripped, lost my balance due to my extremely heavy backpack, and wound up sliding on my face in the street.  I’m quite a sight now, scraped up face and hands. Black and blue marks everywhere. <sigh>

To add insult to injury, my period is now 4 days late. My cycles had been pretty regular in the year leading up to IVF thanks to acupuncture, but I think IVF has thrown my system out of wack. I never had any fertile signs this month, never got the smiley face on the OPK. I would like my period to arrive soon, however, as a lack of menses is a symptom that my diminished ovarian reserve is moving in to the next phase of impending doom.  Has anyone experienced IVF screwing up their cycles?

I’ve got two days of self-care ahead:  a trip to the doctor this morning to examine the bump on my head (er… face?)  and then acupuncture with my regular guy this afternoon to help with my nerve damage.  Tomorrow I will visit one of the official “Fer.tility Cure” acupuncturists to see if she is willing to offer up any hope that I can get knocked up on my own.

Looks like I am facing a week of healing – in more ways than one!

Entry filed under: alternative medicine, life.

Circling, with nowhere to land Happy Friday music

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lea  |  October 27, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Ouch! I’m so sorry about your tumble down the hill! And of course your messed up cycle. I haven’t done IVF, but I have heard from others that it can mess up the following cycles. I hope you get balanced out soon.

    Reply
  • 2. Io  |  October 27, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Oh dear! Ass over teacups! (Okay, I have never heard this before and it is awesome, although the fact that it happened to you is not.)
    I hope you feel better soon – both physically and emotionally. I’m glad your husband at least is starting to understand a bit, though it’s too bad that understanding probably comes with a lot of pain.

    Reply
  • 3. Pundelina  |  October 28, 2009 at 5:07 am

    The IVF mucked up my cycle last time – I only had a 12 day luteal phase and then I didn’t ovulate til CD17. Way late for me. Hope your body finds its way back into whack soon.

    Reply
  • 4. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  October 28, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Oh, dude. Sounds rough! I’m so sorry you’re hurt like that! Awful, awful, awful. And I’m sorry the recovery from the cycle is wreaking such havoc on your system. That’s just sucky.

    I keep trying to temper the husband’s excitement, but it’s like they just don’t get it. I mean, even a positive beta isn’t a guarantee that you’ll bring home a baby.

    I want to say more, but I am at effing work right now, but I do want to mention that I will probably be coming to your lovely city for the Thanksgiving holiday, if you and SuperHusband might be around and we might happen to cross paths…

    Feel better, dude. I’m hoping you get some positive answers from the Fert.ility Cure accupuncturists.

    Reply
  • 5. Womb For Improvement  |  October 29, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    You do sound like you need a bit of healing, rest and recuperation. Take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

