Adventures at the RE

September 29, 2009 at 6:53 pm 4 comments

First, thanks to everyone for your words of support these last few days. I appreciate it more then you could imagine. We are slowly coming around out of our daze. I think the hardest part is having so much hope invested, along with all of the time and energy that it takes to do all the injections, go to all the appointments, etc…. Coming down from that can be so overwhelming.

My period arrived Saturday after a day of spotting and fanfare. I’ve had nonstop cramps since Friday afternoon. My skin is broken out and I’ve been intensely moody. I think my body is really suffering from some major hormone withdrawel symptoms.  Honestly, with all the fear I had about side effects from the medications, I felt really good the whole time I did IVF, especially on the stims. I was actually less anxious, less moody, less depressed… I lost weight, gained energy, went for a short jog nearly every morning… Yah, I found it a little difficult to focus, and my abdomen got a little sore once my ovaries swelled up… but I would take meno.pur all the time if I could!  It has me wondering… if I have some sort of deficiency somewhere that is causing the elevated FSH. It’s something to ponder.

My last remaining side effects from the whole experience is a gigantic green bruise in the crook of my elbow from my Beta blood draw (I look like a junkie!) and extreme pain in my hips from the PIO injections. My right hip still is very tender to the touch and hurts when I walk. My last injection on that side was last Wednesday, almost a week ago.  My left side is extremely sore and hurts all the time… the last injection on that side was on Thursday. Is it normal to still be hurting from PIO injections? I’m worried that I am having an allergic reaction (a la the HSG from hell.) or an infection…?

Lastly, I wanted to share an adventure from my RE’s office. I was inspired by Kate’s tale of weird-o’s in her RE’s office, and I was going to leave this story in a comment but it got way too long.

I went in for an early morning ultrasound and blood draw… It was the last one of my cycle, I knew that they were most likely going to be giving me the trigger and my retreival instructions so I was a little excited. My office is like other RE offices that I have heard about… there is an unspoken code that no one speaks in the waiting room, and there is minimal eye contact. No sooner had I sat down then a woman breaks both of those rules.

“It sure was cold this morning!” she announced. “It’s a good thing I wore a sweater!”

I looked up at her. “Yah. It’s nice though.”

“We had to leave at 6am to get here!  My daughter slept all the way here. She’s not used to getting up that early.” She said gesturing at the surly and extremely overweight teenager sulking on the opposite side of the waiting room.

It was at this point that I pondered their presence at the RE’s office. Secondary infertility? She had a teenager… Why did the teenager come?  Was the teen infertile?  Now I was curious. But my name was called.

They quickly took my blood and ushered me into the exam room for my ultrasound. When it was over they brought me into a small waiting room so I could wait for the nurse who would explain the retreival and the trigger injection.

And I waited, and waited, and waited. And could hear everything happening next door in the room where they draw blood.

“Don’t stick me with that needle!  No! I don’t want my blood taken!” 

The teenager was putting up quite a fight. The nurses explained that they needed a baseline reading before she drank the glucose beverage. She was suspected to have gestational diabetes.

“I don’t care!  I don’t care about this baby!  I don’t want this baby!  I want to go home!”

And on, and on… for about 1/2 an hour, when the nurse finally took a break and came in to talk to me about HSG.

I guess it hadn’t occured to me that RE’s do things other then infertility, like glucose tests. But the irony of a very overweight and very fertile pregnant teen who did not want her baby shouting within earshot of a dozen infertile women?  It was a little much.

I’ve had strange waiting room experiences at the RE before… the time around Christmas where everyone seemed to have brought their extended family comes to mind. But mostly it’s just quiet lesbian couples and women of advanced maternal age. I’m sure I look like the freak to most of them, with my giant backpack filled with school books, wild hair, and general messy appearance.

I guess we are all a little weird. I kind of miss those freaks.

Entry filed under: life.

Finding a fresh outlook Bump-dar

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pundelina  |  October 1, 2009 at 3:04 am

    I’m weird – I talked to the women around me in the waiting room during IVF#1 first stim scan. Then I came out crying and wished I hadn’t talked before I went in.

    I hope your hip pain from the PIO shots has finally settled down.

    :o)

    Reply
  • 2. Pundelina  |  October 1, 2009 at 3:05 am

    aarrgghh I always stuff up my smileys in wordpress…it’s supposed to look like this

    : o )

    Reply
  • 3. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  October 1, 2009 at 11:00 am

    dude. WTF. A knocked up teenager who hates her baby in an office full of infertiles? That’s a comedy waiting to happen. I’m glad you shared that weird experience. I’m feeling less like mine was the outlier experience now…

    Yeah, since I started taking the FSH, my skin has cleared right up, which makes me wonder whether or not there’s some sort of hormone deficiency. Of course, it may still decide to break out some, but for now, the FSH is actually treating me pretty nicely. Well, other than the headaches. And the tiredness. But still. My body just feels sort of right. I can’t really explain it.

    And AAAAH. I’ve been freaking out over the PIO shots, but talking myself down, saying it won’t be a big deal. But now, I think I’ll just go ahead and freak the f*ck out. Not fun! Of course, if I get to the point where I have to give myself PIO, it’ll mean that I’ve made it past egg retrieval, which will mean that my ovaries have cooperated, which will be a good thing, so I’m just trying to keep that in mind.

    Reply
  • 4. Womb For Improvement  |  October 3, 2009 at 11:01 am

    Did you consider popping next door and offering to take it off her hands?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

