Believing in IVF is like believing in unicorns

September 24, 2009 at 6:18 pm 15 comments

Negative.

HCG= Zero.

I’m gonna get drunk and cry a lot.

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

As good as it gets? Finding a fresh outlook

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lea  |  September 24, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    It certainly feels that way a lot (like unicorns). I’m so sorry. Lots and lots of hugs.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  September 24, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Oh, god. I am so devastated. So sad for you. It’s so fucking unfair. Bullshit, is what it is. I just… I am beyond words for this right now. I am thinking of you, wishing you as much peace as is possible. Or alternately, an appropriate violent outlet for the sadness and disappointment.

    Just, for what it’s worth, paltry as it is, I’m thinking of you and Super-Husband. I’m just so very sorry. The getting drunk and crying a lot just seems like the only appropriate response right now.

    Reply
  • 3. babysmiling  |  September 25, 2009 at 12:11 am

    I’m so sorry.

    I cried after lots of failed cycles, but I never tried getting drunk. Hope it helps a little.

    Take care.

    Reply
  • 4. annacyclopedia  |  September 25, 2009 at 4:38 am

    Oh, sweetie. I’m so very sorry. Kate is right – horribly unfair. Holding you in my heart as you work through this.

    Reply
  • 5. Beth  |  September 25, 2009 at 8:20 am

    I’m so sorry. To say that it sucks doesn’t even come close… I wish we could all be naive again.

    Reply
  • 6. Blanche  |  September 25, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Crying and drinking is an excellent plan.

    Tomorrow, or next week, is soon enough to worry about what comes next.

    LFCA

    Reply
  • 7. Pundelina  |  September 25, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Damn. That’s awful news, I’m so sorry that it didn’t work out.

    😦

    Reply
  • 8. planningdoesntwork  |  September 25, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Ah shit, I’m so sorry. It’s absolutely not fair. Be kind with yourself. And getting drunk can fall into the category of being kind in this situation.

    Reply
  • 9. nancy  |  September 25, 2009 at 11:14 am

    I’m so very sorry for your news. A million ~hugs~ through the internet to you. So unfair.

    (l&fc)

    Reply
  • 10. Fertility Chick  |  September 25, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I am so so sorry. None of this is fair at all. Getting drunk sounds more than reasonable. Thinking about you.

    Reply
  • 11. sunflowerchilde  |  September 25, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Here from LFCA – I’m so sorry. Definitely go enjoy some delicious alcoholic beverages and try to stay sane. IF sucks.

    Reply
  • 12. Sue  |  September 25, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Here from LFCA. I am so sorry. Right there with you. This all f*cking sucks.

    Reply
  • 13. Elaine  |  September 25, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    I am so sorry to hear this. Sending you a cyber (((hug))).

    Reply
  • 14. Katie  |  September 25, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Aww I’m sorry- that sucks. I hope you’re okay.

    LFCA

    Reply
  • 15. Dirk  |  September 27, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    My wife also got drunk following our last negative news. Having been off booze for so long made her a really cheap date.

    Like everyone here I am sorry about your news. I hope one day you get the results you want.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

