In my sights

September 8, 2009 at 12:51 pm 6 comments

The end is near!   Tonight and tomorrow will be meno.pur injections number 9 and 10, and hopefully the end of this little experience. While I was once dreading the egg retreival with it’s own drug cocktail and ability to f* up my schedule, I am now looking forward to it, as it is really the last difficult thing I will have to do in this process. Providing that I get my progesterone in suppository form and not injectable.

While the meno.pur has indeed gotten a bit better, I think that is just because I am more prepared for the pain now. I can still feel it radiate through my belly and I always unwillingly hold my breath during the whole process. The injection sites have a tendency to stay red and swollen and sore for about 2 days, so I always have two sore spots on my stomach. I’m sitting here with my jeans unbuttoned right now so the waistband dosn’t put any additional pressure on the sore spots.

To top it all off, I have a major league head cold and I can’t take anything for it. (Which seems insane since I am pumping my body full of drugs anyway) I came home early from school today, which I am bound to regret if I end up missing two days from school for retreival and transfer. But right now it looks as though retreival will be on Saturday, I am inclined to not worry about it and take care of myself.

The cold is distracting me a bit from worrying about what is next… frankly I would keep giving myself shots twice a day forever if it ment that I was gauranteed a healthy baby. I can’t bear the thought that this might not work. I’ve had to shush super-husband’s endearing hopefulness. Baby names. Nursery decorating. How I am going to be one pain-in-the-ass pregnant woman. Three weeks from now this will all be over, our fate decided. It’s overwhelming. He asked me last night if we had any plans for September 19… and I realized that I have not yet looked that far ahead. Right now my universe ends the day of embryo transfer, the day that I am pregnant until proven otherwise – the most pregnant that I may ever be.

Update:  My E2 levels are ultra high so tonight I got to decrease the meno.pur to three vials!  (it still hurt) But I suddenly have the pleasure of feeling my ovaries… especially ole righty who is working on seven follicles right now. Looks like retreival is most likely being bumped up to Friday!!!

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

Ruminations on lucky numbers On our way

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annacyclopedia  |  September 8, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    I’m celebrating the approach of the end of this leg of the journey for you, and just holding you in my thoughts as you wait. I think you are being very wise to try to put aside the thoughts of the future – as much as you can, anyway. You have more than enough to keep you busy, right in the present.

    Hang in there – my most fervent wishes for success are being beamed in your direction!

    Reply
  • 2. Lea  |  September 8, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Sending good thoughts. And hooray for no more shots!

    Reply
  • 3. Womb For Improvement  |  September 8, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    I can totally empathise with not planning ahead, I was looking at my diary the other day and realised I didn’t have any plans for Friday nights between now and Christmas – normally I am booked up weeks in advance but just now I refuse to make any plans, just in case…

    Reply
  • 4. Fertility Chick  |  September 8, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Yay to final days of injections! Sending good thoughts and will be thinking about you in the days ahead.

    Reply
  • 5. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  September 9, 2009 at 10:30 am

    The end is indeed in sight! As I just started my injections, I’m SO with you on being ready for this to be over (though my doc has already sent me PIO– not sure why they won’t do suppository progesterone. I’d much rather use it than keep shooting myself up for weeks and weeks…), only my “end” is still a few weeks off. Sigh.

    But yes, like you, I would shoot myself up twice a day forever if it meant taking home a baby. As always, I’m thinking of you during this cycle, but will be sending especially good thoughts your way during the coming days.

    Reply
  • 6. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  September 9, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Oh, and yes. H works at W.F., and yes, there have been some 100+ confirmed cases now…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

