Ruminations on lucky numbers

September 1, 2009 at 7:02 pm 6 comments

I don’t tend to be a superstitious person. Despite the fact that I am knitting myself some lucky socks. That has more to do with keeping my mind occupied, and less with me thinking that the socks actually posess something other then all the hope that I am channeling into them.

The one thing I do tend to be more superstitious about is numbers. One in particular: 311.

It all started when super husband and I were on a trip to Miami to see that delicious band that I have mentioned here before for a four night concert run over New Year’s Eve. This was back in 2003. We were still living in the big city and were starting to feel like we needed to make a big life change and move somewhere new. It’s all we talked about during that trip, and we were looking for signs everywhere.

Our tickets for the third night of the show were up in the top level of the arena, the 400 section. The sound wasn’t very good up there, so we wandered down to the 3oo section and looked for an unattended portal that we could sneak in to. During setbreak I needed to use the bathroom and I looked to see what section we had ended up in. It was section 311. This was easy for me to remember because our hotel room in Miami was room number 311. Ha!  Funny coincidence! Later that evening I realized that we were in row number 11, and super husband was sitting in seat 3.

The next night was New Year’s Eve and the band played until past 1am. After the show let out we wandered around a creepy Christmas village that had been set up in a park nearby, and then found a yummy all night Cuban restaurant where we had a delicious meal. When we finally stumbled into our hotel room (#311)  the clock told us that it was 3:11 am.

Freaky, no?

When I went back to work a few days later I told my boss that we would be moving away and that I would not be applying to renew my contract. I asked him when my last day was on my current contract. It was March 11. (or 3/11 for those of us in the US) That was the moment I knew that this whole 3-1-1 thing was a bit cosmic, and that moving was the right thing to do.

(As an aside, it was the right thing to do. Turns out that the Iraq war escalated, and my government job was eliminated to save money. I would not have been able to get my contract renewed, even if I had wanted to…)

So… in the years that followed we always payed special attention to anything with 311 in it. 3:11 pm -if we see the clock at this time and we are together we kiss… or super husband will text me “Happy 311!”  We decided last year that we would take the month off in March of 2011 and go on a vacation.

When we’ve been trying to conceive, three years have gone by where March 11 has rolled around and I have wondered, “is this it?” Maybe I’ll be ovulating on that day, or maybe I’ll test on that day. It hasn’t been lucky for us yet in that way… But we always call March 11th our cosmic anniversary.

Ok, let’s digress to another story…

0901091926

At my visit to the RE yesterday they gave me an early birthday present.

0901091927

A big bag of meno.pur and needles and alchohol swabs! I was mixing up my first batch last night when I looked more closely at the vial in my hand. And printed on the label, printed on all the labels of all the vials it turns out, is something that gave me more hope for this cycle then any lucky socks could have given me…

0901091934

My meno.pur expires in March of 2011.

(ps – It is true what they say!  Ice really helps!  Tonight’s injection was much easier, a lot less like Harry and Dumbledore in the cave.)

Entry filed under: IVF #1, life, love.

Time for something new In my sights

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Missy  |  September 1, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    That is pretty freaky. I hope these are your lucky meds.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  September 2, 2009 at 6:26 am

    Ah, yes. I have my freaky-cosmic numbers, too, though none as a couple, I don’t think.

    I am so glad you have gotten that sign. It just feels good to think that the world is looking out for you, sending you little private notices that things might be okay after all.

    (And tip on the Menopur duly noted…)

    Reply
  • 3. Womb For Improvement  |  September 2, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Fingers crossed it is a sign. Lets hope in March 2011 you’ll be taking another little one along with you.

    Reply
  • 4. Pundelina  |  September 7, 2009 at 1:02 am

    oooh, I love lucky numbers, I look for mine all over the place too. I really hope that this is your lucky cycle!

    :o)

    Reply
  • 5. Pundelina  |  September 7, 2009 at 1:03 am

    drats, I always stuff up wordpress smileys – here’s a proper grin.

    🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Fertilization report « First Comes Love  |  June 19, 2010 at 11:26 am

    […] today I looked up when my due date would be if this all works…  Take a moment and revisit this post from last year’s IVF, paying special attention to the month that SH and I have planned to take off for the last few […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

