Time for something new

August 31, 2009 at 10:28 am 2 comments

So… went in this morning for Day 3 stuff – everything looks good, no cysts – all clear!  I also got my meno.pur for the next few days…

So, they have me doing 5 vials each night… Which seems really, really high to me. It’s because of the elevated FSH diagnosis. They said they might scale it back as things progress. But I have no idea what is normal?   Ok, peanut gallery – has anyone done 5 before?  I’m terrified of overstimulating and having the cycle canceled!

Update:  Ok, so the nurse was not lying when she said that the meno.pur would be painful. Not only am I traumatized, so is super-husband. Think Harry forcing Dumboldore to drink the potion in the cave. Fun times.

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

Lo and Behold! Ruminations on lucky numbers

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Womb For Improvement  |  September 1, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    I like the analogy! No idea about quantities but then I usually follow what my doctors says blindly – it doesn’t always work out.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  September 1, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Oh, you poor thing! That sounds horrible! I really want to plug my ears and turn my head, but ultimately, I need to know this stuff before I start my own round of meds. I am just so sorry you are having to deal with something like this, that it hurts. It’s all so unfair anyway, but to add the pain is just terrible.

    And yes, that sounds like an awful lot of Menopur. I really have no real experience, except being mildly horrified when the mail order fertility meds pharmacy called me to tell me what was in the order, and they just went on, and on, and on. 10 vials of this, 4 of that, one of this, a 14-day pack of that, syringes, mixing needles, injecting needles, alcohol swabs, sharps container, etc., etc., etc. It all feels a bit overwhelming.

    I hope it gets to be less ‘poison in the cave’ and soon. Thinking of you…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

