managing fear

August 3, 2009 at 9:09 am 3 comments

In case you haven’t figured it out yet, I tend to have quite a bit of anxiety towards the unknown. I gain a lot of comfort from routines and pre-planning, and even the smallest break from the plan or routine can make me grumpy. I’m able to deal with it for the most part, but the larger the break in routine is, the more anxiety it causes. It’s a problem that has been magnified whenever I take hormone altering drugs. You can see where this is going…

So, I’m basically terrified to take Lupron. Seeing that my anxiety can be reduced by knowing what to expect, I made the mistake of searching for “lu.pron side ef.fects” and was slightly majorly horrified by the results.

I’ve since gained a little peace when I realized that some of these people were taking a much larger dose over a longer period of time, and not for IVF. But it is the emotional side effects that scare me the worst, especially since this is going to be a hard time for me anyway. I considered putting this cycle off for another month, but that will just allow me more time to become more terrified.

If you have done IVF… how did Lupron effect you? How bad were the (emotional) side effects on a 1-10 scale?

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

First IVF appointment, check! Diagnosis

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beth  |  August 3, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I was on 10 units of Lupron every morning for 10 days (from CD23 until the next CD2), the 5 units daily for 8 more days. During the first few days of Lupron, I felt maybe one or two quick hot flashes and that was all for physical side-effects. I was a little crabbier than usual, but some of that may have been pent-up frustration from thinking to myself, “The world has no idea what I’m going through right now. If they did, they’d be nicer to me.”

    After about a week on Lupron, the real menopausal symptoms set in and I was an easily-distracted half-wit for several days. Mood-wise, I was pretty OK, but I was forgetting things left-and-right. All told, I’d say at their worst, the emotional side-effects rated a 4 on the scale of 1-10, with 10 being the worst. And the 4 lasted just four days or so out of the 18 that I was taking it.

    I think if you’re realistic and expect some kind of side effects, and let a few people very close to you know what’s going on, you’ll get the sympathy that you need to carry you through the brief time that you have to deal with Lupron. If you can, try to make your time on Lupron as stress-free as you possible- pay your bills a little early so you won’t have to remember them; allow yourself to go out to eat or buy pre-packed foods to make meals easy; get a lot of sleep; don’t let anyone force you to make any big decisions while you’re on Lupron (that’s why those closest to you need to know what’s going on- so they can help you dodge big decisions, or make them for you, if appropriate). Basically, baby yourself. I think we need it during that difficult time.

    Good luck! It’s so worth it in the end!!

    Reply
  • 2. Baby Smiling In Back Seat  |  August 4, 2009 at 2:28 am

    I think Lupron was better for me than most. I’d give it a 2 out of 10 on the emotional scale.

    The FSH was much worse for me, emotionally speaking.

    I found that the key with all of them was to recognize when it was the drugs instead of the real me. My husband would also remind me when I was acting out of character, since sometimes the strong emotions didn’t let me think clearly.

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 3. Jenn  |  August 4, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    I just came across your blog and could totally identify with your feelings about Lupron. I start 20 units on Wednesday for my first IVF and I am petrified! My clinic said I am on their highest dose b/c I am at risk for OHSS. Actually all the drugs scare me but this one is at the top of my list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

