First IVF appointment, check!

July 31, 2009 at 7:12 pm 5 comments

I’ve managed to check one thing off my IVF list. All in all it was relatively painless and quick. I had to have a blood draw to make sure that my estedrol and FSH levels qualified me for their money back gaurantee program, but I got to keep my pants on! So that’s a first.

It looks like we are going forward with IVF very very soon. Sooner then I am comfortable with really, but I’m not sure when I will ever be comfortable with the idea of IVF. So, I’m sucking it up and taking things one step at a time.

Next up… baseline ultrasound on August 14, along with my injectable meds instruction. I’ll start Lupron on August 19. Egg retrevial and transfer will be in early September, just after my 29th birthday.

I think I know what I want this year, a gift that won’t be delivered until June.

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

Hurry up and wait! managing fear

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  August 1, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Wow! That is quick! That’s great, great news. And I’m glad you got to keep your pants on!

    Reply
  • 2. Womb For Improvement  |  August 1, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    I hope you get it. Once it starts it does suddenly seem quick after so long waiting, but if it all works you’ll have a good nine months to get use to it.

    Reply
  • 3. Lea  |  August 2, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Wow! That will be here before you know it! I hope you get everything you want for your birthday. 😉

    Reply
  • 4. romancingthestone  |  August 5, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    More power to you lady. I am on that journey as well, and wish we all get happy wishes for our birthdays. My heart goes out to every mom-to-be who’s trying. No one knows how hard it is until your in the middle of it, but we all seem to find this immeasurable strength within….. wishing you well,

    Reply
  • 5. Dirk  |  August 17, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    It’s not as scary as it sounds. Well, except for all the drugs, hormones, injections, tests, procedures, and life altering emotional impact. Other than that, it’s a breeze.

    Try stay calm. It will be fine. Trust me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

