First of many steps

July 28, 2009 at 8:01 pm 3 comments

So somehow I wound up on the front page of kirtsy, and had a huge spike in readers and commenters last week. My blog slackness was highlighted, as many of you new readers left me lovely comments and I needed to approve them. Hi new readers!  I can be a bit slacky with the blog sometimes, but welcome, and I look forward to reading your stories.

I need to update my blog roll to include a lot of the newer blogs that I have recently started reading, and maybe make a new catagory for those of you that are now pregnant or parenting. (it seems as though most of my blogroll is now pregnant or parenting…) (Which is good, I am happy for you, really, and I enjoy reading your stories about your little ones, but I also sometimes need to read the stories of those still in the thick of it… oh I don’t need to explain, I know you understand!)

Anyway, today I took the first step towards starting IVF. . . I called my RE and set up a consult. (THIS FRIDAY!) We will have a sit down and talk about protocol, scheduling, etc, and I will get all of my instructions for getting started. I am scared, but I am trying to take this one step at a time. Right now I just need to get through the appointment and learn what the next step is.

Super-Husband was ready to take a different tactic. Over lunch this afternoon he said to just focus on the end result, and not worry about all the stuff that leads up to it.

“The end result is small,” he said. “Smaller then the dog,”  he gestured to our German Shepard mix snoozing at our feet on the dining room rug.

“I certainly hope so!” I said, “Otherwise this will be worse then I am anticipating!”

I love how he can make me laugh when I am feeling down. But I think that focusing on the end result is too much pressure. There is too much at stake… So one step at a time it is…

Entry filed under: IVF #1.

I Confess Hurry up and wait!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lea  |  July 29, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Congrats on the first step!!! So exciting and so scary at the same time. I think I’d have to take it one step at a time too. Good luck at your appointment!

    Reply
  • 2. Dirk  |  July 29, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    It’s not nearly as scary as you think. We’ve had some setbacks, and some emotional upheaval, but remain optimistic. Plus, who said having a kid would be easy. There is bound to be some setbacks and emotional upheaval after they are born too.

    Reply
  • 3. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  July 29, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    I confess. I nominated your post to be Kirtsy’d. I just thought it was *that* good and needed to be read by all kinds of people. It just so clearly showed the kinds of emotions that we infertile people experience as we begin these journeys with unknown ends.

    I’m so glad you’ve made your first IVF appointment. I know that I only made it through my very first RE meeting ever because of the support offered by people like you, who read my blog and comment and show that you care (and also people like you, who share on your blog your own stories of your first meeting with the RE, and ease my mind that my issues are totally understandable, and par for the course. So thanks for that, too.).

    I will be excited to hear about your appointment, and excited to hear about your plan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

