Standing Room Only (aka, No Room at the Inn)

December 23, 2008 at 8:16 pm 3 comments

As if the holidays weren’t hectic enough, I got my period on Friday which ment I just made the cutoff for a cycle this month. A bit of a blessing and a curse really, as this is my last month on the expensive insurance that covers a few things. That’s right, I was reinstated… only to uninstate myself so I can switch over to school insurance in January!

Yesterday I headed over to the IF clinic for my monthly wanding. I arrived at the appointed hour only to find that the parking lot was completely full. I parked semi-legally along the curb and went inside to see a scene that would have been more appropriate for the mall this time of year.

(It might be worth interjecting here that the maximum number of people I’ve ever seen in the waiting room of the clinic is two. Including myself.)

There were kids playing with toys on the floor and coffee table. Generations of folks chatting nervously in the corner. It seemed oddly as though everyone had brought their entire extended family. “Hey Grandma, I know a fun thing to do while you are in town for the holidays… come with me when I have my IUI!”

 I plunked myself down in the only available seat and set to working on my last knitting project of the holiday season of giving. Then more people came in. And there was no place for them to sit.  “I’ve got a 10:30 appointment but I was running early so I figured we would come now!” the lady announced to the receptionist. I looked at my watch… it was 9:15. 

Seems as though the holidays make everyone feel the pressure to be in a family way.

I’m on day two of Letrazole, have the same pounding headache I experienced with the clomid. Looks like we’re squeezing in IUI of Love #2 on New Year’s Eve.

SuperHusband’s brother’s wife will be induced on the 29th, and we will have our first neice or nephew. I cracked out some knitting patterns I had filed away when we first started trying to conceive and knitted the baby a few things. When ever I find out someone close to me is pregnant, I think to myself… “well, hopefully by the time they have their baby we will be expecting our own, and it will hurt a little less.”  Well, we’re out of time for this one.

I also just found out that a friend is expecting her second IVF baby in June. Maybe we’ll meet that deadline and she can loan me all her stylish maternity clothes.

Entry filed under: IUI of Love, #s 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

my body may be taking a month off but my mind isn’t so frustrated

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beth  |  December 24, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Happy Holidays! And best of luck with the New Year’s Eve IUI. Maybe the special date will be the start of a most happily memorable year. I’m still waiting for 2009- when my new insurance kicks in. So, regardless of what CD I’m on, this month was totally off the TTC bandwagon. Just think, we won’t have to worry about looking hot in a swimsuit this summer if our plans work out!

    Reply
  • 2. Lea  |  December 30, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    How’d the Letrozole go? I made it through pretty well. A no-fun headache the first day, but not much the rest of it. I’m going in for my CD12 u/s tomorrow (actually CD11). How is your process going? Thinking about you!

    Reply
  • 3. Mom to be  |  December 31, 2008 at 4:12 am

    Hey,
    I wish you a baby in 2009 ofcourse. Hope that New Year’s Eve brings you the best of luck!

    Mom to be

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

