The letter, part 2

November 25, 2008 at 5:23 pm 6 comments

Turns out that last week involved two exciting letters! Here’s another one that I wrote:

To:  Evil Boss Man    CC:  Two Faced Office Manager   Re: Take this job and shove it!

Dear Evil Boss Man,

While I appreciated the drunken phone call awakening me from peaceful slumber land on Thursday night telling me to report for work at 7am the next morning or else, I would prefer the “or else.”

So, this letter is to notify you that as of the end of the month I will no longer be an employee of yours. Have you ever wondered what my limit would be?  Turns out it’s not the emotional abuse, the drunken mid day rampages, or the bi-polar behaviors. It’s not having to remove viruses from your computer after you spent the day looking at po.rn, it’s not having to find the year’s hot Christmas toy for your kids, it’s not having to clean up after you and your kid’s office messes.  Think it was the time you took your shirt off in a meeting with a client and puffed out your beer gut? No, I just found that funny. Hilarious actually.

It was waking me up in the middle of the night to threaten me. That was my limit. You can have my time from 8-5, but my sleep? That belongs to me.

Good Riddance,

Mrs. LCF.

So… now I am unemployed and have no health insurance!  Guess it’s good I’m not pregnant!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The letter, part 1 A fresh start for 2009

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  November 25, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Oh, wow! Big week for you, huh? But good for you for standing up to your boss. I wonder on what planet he thinks it’s okay to call you after hours and say some shit like that to you. Of course, all the rest of his behaviors were totally, completely inappropriate as well, so I’m proud of you for staying as long as you did. But, all the same, I’m glad you got out of there.

    Congrats on this new beginning! Woot!

    Reply
  • 2. Io  |  November 25, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Oh damn. Wanna come drink with me? I’m still employed, but my husband’s not and I don’t have health insurance!

    I’m glad you are kicking ass and taking names though. That does indeed sound like too much shit to put up with.

    Reply
  • 3. annacyclopedia  |  November 26, 2008 at 10:37 am

    I too have ridden the freedom train away from a horrible job, and while I never had to give up my health insurance cause I live in paradise aka Canada, it is still an exhilarating, terrifying, and ultimately awesome thing to do. I hope it is the same for you, and I am very proud of you for drawing the line.

    Great letter. I hope you sent it. Actually, I hope you wrapped it around a brick and threw it through his window. He sounds like such a wanker.

    Reply
  • 4. Beth  |  November 26, 2008 at 10:41 am

    I’m all for making a clean break with the bad mojo from 2008. You have better things to do than deal with an adolescent boss, and I’m amazed you put up with him for any length of time. Enjoy your clean slate- I hope you land a dream job, with kickass health insurance!!! There’s nowhere to go but up, right?

    Reply
  • 5. Lea  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Dang. Do we have the same boss? Actually, yours sounds worse (sorry). Glad you won’t have to deal with that any more! I hope the insurance thing works out. They are such f#@%#%s. I agree, nowhere to go but up!

    Reply
  • 6. womb for improvement  |  November 27, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    I once quit a job with nothing to go to. I was absolutely petrified but without wanting to sound cliched, really, really the best thing I ever did.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

