One week down, one to go.

November 20, 2008 at 6:54 pm 5 comments

Things aren’t looking great.

I had CD21 bloodwork done yesterday and while the bad news is that I did not appear to ovulate this month, the good news at least is that we are getting closer to an understanding of what in my body is not working properly.

My progesterone was at an 8, and the nurse said they like to see at least a 10 to indicate ovulation. A little searching on the net let me to the belief that there is really no way I can be knocked up with a progesterone level of an 8.

I guess it’s good I can’t get all foolish and feel hopeful that this was the month. But I was enjoying the feeling of possibility a bit. I guess it’s time to change my “IUI of Love” tag to “IUI of Love #1.”

I tried to distract myself by catching up on some non-IF blogs that I enjoy and found out that Dooce is pregnant and I’m happy for her and all, really I am. But it reminded me of when I found out that the fabulous people at Sweet Juniper were expecting their second, and how at the time (18 months ago) I was so secretly thrilled, because I was hoping to find out soon that I was also pregnant and I could read online about what would soon be happening to me from one of my favorite writers.

sigh.

So here we go again.

My day was topped off by a genuinely shit-tastic day at work, one that left me snapping at everyone. And my office mates like to hold grudges, so it will be at least a month before anyone is treating me like anything other then a psycho-bitch again.

And then there was the letter. Something so unbelievable it deserves a post all of it’s own.  Stay tuned…

Entry filed under: everyone is pregnant, IUI of Love, #s 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5, woe is me.

Reflections on the Psychadelic Experience The letter, part 1

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lea Finnell  |  November 21, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    I’m sorry about the non-ovulation. I don’t respond to Clomid either. I hope they switch you to something that works.

    That’s funny that you brought up Dooce being pregnant! I saw that the other day too, and although I am happy for her, my first reaction was, WTF?! Is EVERYONE in blogland pregnant? Of course, that can’t be true, look at us. 😦 Hers was like the 5th non-IF blog I read that has announced pregnancy in the last 3 months.

    OK, sorry for my ranting in your comments! 🙂 I hope your week gets better.

    Reply
  • 2. Io  |  November 21, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Ug, I’m sorry about this cycle. But hopefully they can figure out how to change it.
    I feel you on the crap work day – today was one of those days I had to keep reminding myself it was Friday.

    Reply
  • 3. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  November 22, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Oh, no. Sorry about the crap cycle, but good that you’re honing in on the problem. Wow. I’m usually an obsessive Dooce reader, and apparently the one week I’m 100% down-for-the-count, she up and gets knocked up! Well, I couldn’t be happier for her, but there is always that pinge of sadness, too. Everyone on the frickin’ planet gets to be knocked up except me.

    Sigh.

    And suck with the crappy work day. I hate bad days at work, almost more than I hate not having an income… catch-22, eh? Don’t work- life’s better, don’t make any money- life gets harder, so if you don’t work and you don’t make any money, then doesn’t life kind of stay the same? It’s like this Pizzicato 5 song called HappySad. Always makes me feel better, but then not so great because I miss all the loveliness of my life back when I listened to them all the time (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AeZUZaLt0Fw)…

    Reply
  • 4. womb for improvement  |  November 24, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Hang in there.

    And the letter? That sounds intreiguing.

    Reply
  • 5. annacyclopedia  |  November 25, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Sucks. Sorry this cycle was the magical cycle to end all thoughts of cycling for a good long while. But I guess it’s good to have more info, even when said info is not what you were hoping to get.

    And yes, I am intrigued about the letter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

