Reflections on the Psychadelic Experience

November 12, 2008 at 12:36 pm 5 comments

You guessed it W4I, the last several days have been fairly unremarkable. Not really worth clogging up your googlereaders with. Until Sunday that is.

Sunday afternoon started like any other, until my husband went down the block to visit a friend and a wall of sadness hit me. Hard. I spent about an hour crying for no good reason and wound up calling super husband to tell him not to come home, that I didn’t want to carry through on our plans for the afternoon, and his time would best be spent with his friends not with me, as I was a serious basket-case that he need not see.

He of course interpreted this as “if you know what is good for you, you will come home very soon.” And that is what he did. So he got to see me as a blubbery mess. He relented to my insistence that we not leave the house and we stuck to the couch and watched a movie. Occasionally I would go off on a crying jag, which I thought to be increasingly ridiculous and funny as they went on, eventually leaving me laughing while simultaneously choking on my tears. From an outsider’s perspective I’m sure I looked insanely manic. Lucky for me super husband remembered that bc pills made me act the same way, and he was able to ride the hormonal waves of insanity with a good natured bit of humor and lots of love.

Monday brought with it some needed mental stability and a shot of HCG in my butt. I was reminded of my triple line PG test invention and thought about peeing on a stick just for the thrill of a double line. I refrained.

Yesterday was the monumental moment, the IUI of Love it’s self! The hardest part was getting a sample from super husband, as he does not often do the act that results in a sample, so he was lacking in any kind of personal technique and the whole “on demand” aspect really messed with him. So I was 20 minutes late for my appointment but the whole thing was quite breezy from there on. The doc had a bit of trouble with the cath.eter, the same thing that caused problems with my HSG. Leaving me to wonder if I just have a very disagreeable cervix.  So I have decided that that is my diagnosis. “Disagreeable Cervix.”

I’ll have another progesterone test in a week and then it’s smooth sailing until testing time!  Internets, you will be the first (ok, maybe third?) to know the results.

Entry filed under: IUI of Love, #s 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

The Psychadelic Experience, days 3 and 4 One week down, one to go.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lea  |  November 12, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    Oh, I hope, hope, hope for you!

    Clomid makes me depressed too. Usually a few days after. I feel really good while on it, then boom. Thought it was just me. Glad you are throught that!

    Reply
  • 2. womb for improvement  |  November 12, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    How exciting. about the IUI that is not that I was right, I’m use to that …

    And love, “he does not often do the act that results in a sample”, hmm, he’s got you trained!

    Reply
  • 3. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  November 12, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Woot, woot! I am crossing everything for you!
    And your poor husband having to um, take care of himself… I always feel so bad for the men for having to deal with that aspect. And then I remember that their one moment of awkwardness/embarrassment is the worst part of the whole thing for them, and women have to deal with the weeks of drug-induced night-sweats, hormonal insanity, injections, wands in places where wands really shouldn’t go, painful catheters squirting crap all around in their goodies… and then I don’t feel so bad for their one little moment!

    Reply
  • 4. Beth  |  November 12, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Hi! If we both get lucky this month, we’ll have blog-twins!! I am cheering for us both. In answer to your question, I’m planning to POAS on the 18th, just because it’s the 18th. Then I’ll do the real HPT on the 25th. I made the mistake of buying my sticks already, so I have a whole box staring at me every day.

    Greatest luck!!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Io  |  November 13, 2008 at 11:03 am

    I’m glad superhusband was able to be there are not be scared of you! my hubby also isn’t um, very used to having to provide a sample (not that he has any. Doh.) so he was not really loving the sample thing.
    Good luck with the waiting – I hope it goes quickly(and ends awesomely)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

