Whew!

October 21, 2008 at 1:03 pm 4 comments

I’m wrapping up 5 consecutive weeks of insanity, both at work and at home. We’ve been out of town every weekend for as far back as I can remember… doing fun things, but leaving me feeling like I need a weekend to recover from my weekend.

Last Thursday’s appointment with the RE was about as lovely as one could expect. It felt really good to be in a place where I was understood, that I didn’t hear crys of “you’re so young!” and “it only takes one sperm!”

We spoke and went over my entire TTC history for about 45 minutes and outlined our plan of attack. It’s what I expected really. More bloodwork, a date with the infamous dildocam on CD3, then clo.mid and an IUI with lots of (expensive) monitering. I’m relieved about this though, because I have heard that lots of doctors will perscribe clo.mid without monitering and that you really want the monitering.

In other news, we were unable to score tickets for the reuniting band we love, which was dissappointing. More so when we found out that a few of our closest friends did score tickets. Upsetting because the one thing I really want more then anything is a child, something we’ve had to witness so many others we care about experience. We’ve had to hear the stories, feign happiness for them. And this was the thing that I felt I could at least have, even if I couldn’t have the other. But now we’ll have to hear the stories and feign the happiness all over again.

But I am still optimistic for what we have to come.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What happened to all my time? Let’s get this party started!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. leah  |  October 21, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    check out StubHub.com and I bet you can find tix to the reunion concert! I hope youcan!

    Also, glad that your RE appt. went well. A plan is always nice!

    Reply
  • 2. annacyclopedia  |  October 21, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Yeah, I think it’s best to err on the side of more monitoring. Not that my doctor agrees or anything…I think he does the bare minimum.

    Bummer about the tickets. I totally understand that feeling – I sort of feel that way about my friends and their kitchen renovations. I’d do one myself, but all my money is going towards sperm at the moment.

    Reply
  • 3. Io  |  October 21, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    I totally need a weekend to recover from my weekend. But maybe that’s because I worked Saturday. Doh.
    i think monitoring sounds like a good idea – it’s good to know what exactly is happening. Maybe it will give some more insight.
    God, that ticket thing is an awfully spot on metaphor.

    Reply
  • 4. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  October 21, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Aw, dang. Sorry about not getting tickets to see the band. That sucks.

    But the RE appointment sounds positive. It seems like that would be the right first step, with the monitoring.

    And I know what you mean about needing a weekend off from your weekend. I’m ready to do nothing, but instead, my parents are coming to town.

    And also, to answer your question from before, I have no idea when I’m headed your direction because my friend that lives there has quit answering her phone. She’s all happy and in love and whatnot with a new-ish person, so I have no idea whether or not she’s ever going to have me out to visit her again. I wish she would, ‘cos I miss that place! And I’d love to have the excuse to bump into you for a run or for choco or whatever…
    Someday…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

