What happened to all my time?

October 9, 2008 at 7:14 am 4 comments

Not that I assumed that somehow my stress would decrease when I started school, and I knew October would be insanely busy, but DAMN. I have hardly had a moment to catch my breath these days.

Some notable things:

The pee stick post below was a joke… seems that a few of you believed it – I guess my photoshop skills are better then I thought!  Have no fear, this is not a real product!

School is going great – straight A’s! – and I really enjoy it when I am there, but when I am not I keep asking myself, “why am I putting myself through this willingly?”

While hope kicked my ass to the curb in one department, it followed through in another. The band from our super-hippie days is getting back together, and is playing our favorite venue in March. Tickets are via a lottery, and we find out in the next week or so if we will be so fortunate to get to go. Regardless of weather we win that lottery (I’d rather win a different, more biological one if you know what I mean…) I am happy to know that they are playing together again, and that my dreams of dancing barefoot in the grass may come true this summer.  But still, I keep trying to visualize myself pregnant at this particular show in March, hopefully far enough along that I can feel the baby flipping and kicking to the music in my belly. When do you start feeling fetal movement anyway?

I have my first RE appointment next Thursday!

I have been out of town the last 2 weekends, and will be going out of town the next two weekends, to make a total of 4 weekends in a row out of town – three of them are camping weekends

Obama was in our city this weekend, and got BBQ from the place a block from my house.

moveon.org just came to my office and registered a bunch of unregistered republicans. Who hadn’t been planning on registering. Or voting. But will be now!

I’m still attempting to run. It’s been six weeks now and I still feel like I might die or vomit after about 20 minutes. When does this get easier? Fun? Runner’s high anyone?

Entry filed under: life.

Inventing new IF products Whew!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate (Bee In The Bonnet)  |  October 9, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Heh. You totally got me with that (very well photoshopped) pee stick!

    I am so happy for you with your grades! If you’re doing that while still working, then YOU KICK ASS! Good for you! It’s weird for me, ‘cos weirdly, now that I have all the time in the world to study, I have a really hard time forcing myself to do it. It’s like before when I was working and then in school until 8:00 every night, I knew that if I didn’t do my homework immediately after class, I would have to carve out time at work to do it the next day, and so I always managed to force myself to study and get my homework done promptly. But now that I don’t have to do that? Well, I’ve become much more of a slacker, which is stupid…

    Very cool about your fave band. I hope you get tickets. I hope you get to spin around in hippie skirts stinking of patchouli. And mostly, I hope that you get to be preggo enough to feel your baby dancing with you. But even if that doesn’t happen, I know that you’ll have a blast revisiting your past, and reminiscing about what you used to be like.

    First RE appointment? So EXCITING!!! And just one week ’til then! Yay!!!

    I read your sentence about Obama, but after the word BBQ, you lost me. MMMMMMM. Oh, dear LORD, I LOVE barbeque. I haven’t had BBQ in a long time. I must get some SOON…

    And yay for MoveOn.org registering people, and I want to be supportive of people sharing their voice, taking a stand, etc., but all the same… I really wish that non-motivated republicans would just STAY non-motivated, you know?

    As far as the running thing, are you just straight running for 20 minutes or are you running intervals? ‘Cos, I mean, if you were slowly building up to running 20 minutes at a time, I would still think that you should take 8-9 weeks to do so (at least most of the couch to 5k programs are about that long- some are as short as 6 weeks, some as long as 12, but 8-9 seems average). So, yeah. If you’ve jumped up and started running 20 minute stretches, I would say nausea would be expected.

    As for me, I would say that after about 3-4 weeks, I started to get really excited about running. I just liked the way my body felt afterwards. But as for a runner’s high, I didn’t really get that full euphoric feeling until I started running longer intervals. With my intervals, somewhere around the 8-10 minute mark, I start feeling really great, and then, barring my lungs slamming shut as they are prone to do, I get that really high feeling around the 15-18 minute mark. I rarely make it as far as the 18 minute mark, at least not yet.

    But as for you, I would say 2 things. First, I know the area in which you live, and DUDE. The specific type of landscape you deal with is horrible for running, esp. as a beginner. Without going into too much revealing detail (ahem, Miss Privacy!), the qualities inherent in the air there are not the best for fully oxygenating your lungs (I don’t mean that the air is polluted or anything, just, err, thinner?). And to top that off, I know that just walking from my friend’s house to the restaurant down the street is quite a hike because of the topography. So keep those things in mind that training might go a bit slower for you due to environmental concerns. Of course, all of this applies only if you are running outside, right? So maybe try running on a track, since those are generally pretty level, or try running on a treadmill inside, if you aren’t already doing so.
    Second thing, even though six weeks feels like a long time, it’s a blink in the scope of your life as a (will-be) runner. Give yourself a break. Run slower if you have to- that point was lost on me for the longest time. I kept complaining about how hard it was and Tracy (wondertwins) kept telling me to slow down, and I kept telling her that if I slowed down anymore, I would barely be jogging at all. BUT, through force due to some knee tenderness I was having one day, I found out that you can go ridiculously slow and still be “running”. And as it turns out, my natural pace has a fairly broad range. On a treadmill, I average about a 10 minute mile, so 6 mph (while, interestingly, my treadmill says that I’m going just under 5 mph- but I’m still running). Outside, that drops somewhat, and it takes me about 13-14 minutes to run a mile, so at about 4.5 mph. I found out that if I need to take it easy, I can go as slow as 3.5 mph on the treadmill and still jog. So. Take it easy on yourself. I would think that nausea wasn’t such a good thing, and that ways to avoid it might be to slow yourself down, run shorter times (interspersed with walking), or change the venue where you run.

    I don’t know if you run with music or not, or if you do, if you use an iPod to do so, but- the Nike+iPod is the best $30 I’ve spent in a long time. I LOVE being able to track my runs, to see progress (or lack of), to know realistically how many calories I’m burning. In general, I wouldn’t consider myself to be a “metrics” person, but I love being able to have those stats. It’s been very motivating for me!

    And so. Sometime soon, I will come to your fair city and we can accidentally run into each other while out running, maybe? Alternately, we can accidentally run into each other while stuffing our gaping maws with decadent chocolate- that’d be cool, too, right?

    I wish you luck with all of your endeavors (running, school, baby, and hippie-dancing… you’ve got a lot on your plate!).

    Reply
  • 2. Beth  |  October 14, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Good luck with the RE appointment on Thursday! The very first thing I did when we found out that my husband was our issue was visit an RE. It wasn’t covered by insurance, at all, but it was the best $300 I’d ever spent. I felt so much more knowledgeable and found the doctor and her staff to be a great resource. Knowledge really is power, and that was when I took control over our fertility. You’re much further along in your journey than I was when I visited the RE, but I’m sure you’ll come away with a fresh perspective and optimism. Again, good luck!

    Reply
  • 3. Mom to be  |  October 14, 2008 at 9:20 am

    How did the appointment go? Hope you’re ok

    Loved the pic trick, btw and the comments on it !

    Reply
  • 4. Clearing the Air « First Comes Love  |  June 8, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    […] other news, that concert I was all bummed about missing back in March? Tickets were harder to get then a double line on a pregnancy test, and my dreams of dancing all […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

