The first day of the seventh year

August 18, 2008 at 5:00 pm 3 comments

Six years ago yesterday I married my beloved… today was the start of the seventh year of wedded bliss.

To celebrate our anniversary we went canoing at our favorite lake. It was deserted… we swam and ate sandwiches and paddled in and out of coves. We had a good talk about our next steps for children, and for the first time I came away from a conversation with him on that topic where I feel good, that we are on the same page, and that it wasn’t a struggle to just talk about it. It was the best gift he could have given me…

One of the things we talked about was the possibility that my lady bits are creating a hostile environment for his swimmers, and that perhaps an IUI could help with that.  But it got me to wondering if there are other things I could be doing to perhaps adjust the pH of my female environment?  Foods I could eat or stay away from?  I was thinking about picking up a copy of “the Infertility Cure” or “Taking Charge of your Fertility” and see if they have any information for me on that topic. Has anyone read these and can recommend them?  Or any other books?

Entry filed under: love.

Randomness A wedding or a funeral?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annacyclopedia  |  August 18, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Taking Charge of Your Fertility is a good book but doesn’t have much on diet or other lifestyle changes that I remember. I found it interesting in terms of the level of detail it helped me understand about my cycles, and about what exactly I should be observing to confirm ovulation is happening. In that respect it’s helpful. I know there are some books on diet and fertility, but I tend to think that it’s better to be under the care of a naturopath or TCM practitioner who will adjust their recommendations for your specific constitution. Good luck!

    And most importantly, happy anniversary!

    Reply
  • 2. Trace  |  August 18, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    I read “Taking Charge of Your Fertility” and like Annacyclopedia said, it doens’t cover much on diet. However, I did find it useful to learn that what I thought were UTIs and yeast infections weren’t. My body was doing what it ws supposed to be doing. I learned about my CM from that book too.

    Reply
  • 3. womb for improvement  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Not read either. Sigh. It makes you wonder what mother nature is playing at when you have to worry about wombs being inhospitable, I mean they are designed for just one thing! Look forward to reading about what food tips you get. (The best thing about blogging – getting others to do the research and feed it back in bite sized chunks!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

