Ode to the furriest family member

August 4, 2008 at 5:35 pm 6 comments

I’m in the middle of the lovliest time of the month, the delicious two week wait. Except it’s really like a two month wait, because I know that if I haven’t gotten knocked up during the two year wait, it’s not going to magically happen now. I am counting down the days until October, with it’s IUI of love.

I don’t know how things have been in the other parts of the world, but here in the American Southeast? It’s been hotter and drier then what I imagine hell to be like. The yard is a crispy mess of death, and my walks home from work have been downright miserable. The upside?  I’ve lost about three pounds of water weight in sweat, and it makes the mojitos taste extra delicious.

Since talking about the heat is not all that entertaining, I would like to present my 2WW distraction, “The Furriest Family Member”

She’s golden and black
And she has a real knack
for licking our toes while we eat.

She’s doe-eyed and soft
and her furballs have loft
when you try to clean them up with a sweep.She’s loving and calm
snuggles her head in my palm
and she’s delicate, dainty, and neat.

Entry filed under: life, love.

Sunday Morning A lovely sunflower…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Io  |  August 4, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Aw. I love the ode and the pictures.
    And a mojito sounds pretty good…

    Reply
  • 2. Io  |  August 4, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Ha! Your comment about checking WSMS totally had me scratching my head for a minute, and then suddenly I realized it was ME!

    Reply
  • 3. annacyclopedia  |  August 5, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    She is such a sweetpea! I love those eyes!

    Good luck with the 2ww/2mw!

    Reply
  • 4. womb for improvement  |  August 5, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    My post this week was about my furry little friend too, its clearly a good time to be grateful for those wet little noses.

    Reply
  • 5. Kate  |  August 6, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Oh, I love your sweet poem for your sweet puppy!

    Our county is one that is listed as being subject to “severe to extreme” drought levels. It’s all so peculiar to me, because here, everything is still so green, but in TX, when a drought hits, everything (and I mean EVERYTHING) turns a sandy brown color. I’ve just never known “green” to equal “drought”. I don’t know… despite whatever we try to do, it appears that our water usage has tripled over what it was this time last year. We aren’t doing anything different that I’m aware of, and as a matter of fact, if anything, we’re using less because of the rain barrel. Feh. I just don’t know. We had a guy out to check our pipes and make sure nothing’s broken and he didn’t find anything.

    Sigh.

    Anyhow, in the event that it means anything to you, my friend is coming to visit me in August (19th to 24th), and she has expressed a desire to visit that big house in the city where you may or may not reside (vague enough?). If you happen to be interested, I may happen to be at a certain coffee shop on a certain day for a certain amount of time if you happen to want to run into me (or you can just scope me out, and run away screaming if I turn out to be some weird hairy old dude or something). You know, if you’re possibly interested… no pressure or anything. It’s not even for sure that we will go that direction. We might go camping or to the beach instead. Feh. I don’t know!

    Reply
  • 6. Annchen  |  August 14, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Hi-hi,

    Looks like a perfect distraction to me! I’ll get a puppy in November, once that we’re back from the States and stop travelling for a while… and look soooo much forward to it!

    Hug

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

