still here, still not pregnant

July 2, 2008 at 7:06 am 2 comments

Ahhh… my first ever post to apologize for not posting. I guess I am a bonafied blogger now huh?

Summer has gone in to full swing, and it seems like every moment is occupied by a bbq, a slip and slide party*, a camping trip, things for school, or work work endless work!

After recovering from the HSG allergic reaction from hell, I decided to go and get my updated shots for school. One dTap later, I had a 102 degree fever for three days and had to miss work. An extreme allergic reaction! How novel! This is starting to make me wonder if my body reacts badly to foreign substances, and if it is attacking super-husband’s sperm, thus preventing pregnancy. Hmmm…

Speaking of getting my shots, the whole experience was, well, an experience. I went to the county health department (free!) after work one day. I walked through the door to be greeting with a scene not unlike an airport, a busy train station, or the DMV. There was one of those reels of numbers, so I took one and had a seat on a folding chair. On my right I was being oogled by a young redneck gentleman. In front of me was a huge family, with about three crying babies, speaking to a translator in rapid Spanish. I tried not to make eye contact with anyone. That’s when a teenage girl with a pink glittery tee shirt that said “Princess” and acid washed jeans squeezed in next to me. She started flipping through a booklet she was holding in her lap. I glanced down at it. The title was, “Now That You are Pregnant, What Can You Expect?” She got to the third page or so and whipped out her cell phone, dialed a number, and started sobbing. “Mom! I’m pregnant!”

I nearly kicked myself for not having a business card on me.

I tried to not listen in on her conversation and looked over at the wall about 100 yards away. I could make out a tiny paper flier. There was a picture of a shot on it. I walked over to it and read the teeny tiny letters… “All vaccinations and travel shots – proceed directly to the immunization clinic.” I high tailed it out of there, found the clinic, and after 10 minutes of “Hannah Montana” I was vaccinated and on my way home.

Now that I have my newfound tetanus immunity, I was able to register for classes for the fall. I’ll be taking Health & Wellness and Intro to Statistics. I’m only a little scared. Mostly of statistics.

Other things of note:

  • My acupuncturist took a seminar on abdominal massage for fertility. I get to be her “guinea pig” or as I prefer to call it, her “test pancake.” I’ve been getting free massages!
  • I’ve been having pregnancy dreams… In them, I take a HPT, and I have two lines. That’s it, just the lines. It’s thrilling and realistic and then I wake up.
  • We took a break this month, not on purpose. I ovulated late, while we were camping, and we just couldn’t do the deed on the rocky ground in a tiny tent with the dog, with about 15 of our friends within earshot. I feel a little relieved to have two whole weeks off!

Ok, off to catch up on all of your bloggy goodness!

*In honor of Kate, I am including a footnote to say that grown ups should not throw or attend slip and slide parties. I was sore for several days in some unusual places, and I got off easy. You would think that being a little drunk would help you bounce, but it dosn’t.

Entry filed under: alternative medicine, everyone is pregnant.

Thud Decisions, Decisions…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  July 2, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Geez! Allergic to the tetanus shot, too, huh? Sucky, sucky, sucky. And pregnant teens? Oh, lordy.

    But thanks for posting this- it reminded me that I have to get my immunization records forwarded to my current college in order to attend daytime classes… eesh.

    Lucky you getting to be a test pancake. How fun! I’d love to be a massage test-subject. It should put a dent in your Slip n Slide-battered body, right*? I totally miss the cheap massage school massages from Lauterstein-Conway in Austin. And I totally need a massage right now. Sigh.

    *a footnote included here to confirm that I would have been slippin’ and slidin’ right along with all you fools, drunk or not! Yeeeehaw!

    Reply
  • 2. Io  |  July 3, 2008 at 9:02 am

    You’re definitely a blogger when you apologize for not posting!
    You know, about the slip and slide thing – I’ve noticed that a lot of things that seemed like a lot of fun when I was a kid are now the opposite of enjoyable. The slip n slide hurts, making snow forts is cold and uncomfortable, eating rolled up balls of sugar and butter is not so tasty…
    It’s so sad.
    Dude, that sucks – your body really doesn’t like foreign substances! I wonder if it is attacking your husband’s sperm?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

