On dreams, HSGs, and why I need a new doctor…

May 27, 2008 at 11:30 am 5 comments

Thanks everyone for the HSG well wishes… It was both not as bad and worse then expected. When I mentioned taking a scenic tour of our hospital, I didn’t not realize how close to reality that would be. Husband dropped me off at the wrong building, and I got to walk to the correct one, up a hill w/ no sidewalk, through a construction zone. Luckily it was a nice day, and not too far of a walk.

I checked in to the outpatient center where I waited about 20 minutes, then I was directed to the Radiology waiting room where I waited about 15 minutes. A nurse came for me and brought me to the big X-Ray room where I got to strip down and get on the table. My doctor came in and performed the HSG, which wasn’t too terrible. I had some cramping at the beginning, but no worse then bad AF cramps… but then I guess she had some problems with the catheter, and whipped out a DILATOR. Oh holy hell, the pain… intense but short. I actually yelped. Loudly. After that everything was a cakewalk in comparison. My eyes were still tearing from the pain of the dilator when the radiologist came in to take the pictures. It all went pretty quickly from there.

The good news is my tubes are open and everything looks good. The bad news is my tubes are open and everything looks good. She asked me how long we had been trying and when I responded “two years” she just told me to keep at it, and let her know if I want to try Clomid or an IUI. I hope that the magical HSG tube clearing power will work for us in the next few months.

I definately was NOT HAPPY with my doc’s bedside manner at this appointment. It reminded me that I have not had an exam from her before. She was really rough and fast with me, and did not take the extra time to make me feel comfortable. Even putting the speculum in she was rough, and she didn’t prep me for the pain of the dialator at all. I don’t want this person being the one to do an IUI. My next annual is in August, so I plan to find a new doc by then.

Last night I had a dream that husband and I were trying to adopt a toddler. In order to adopt the child we had to win a tennis match against the agency rep. The kid sat on the sidelines wearing a orange prison jumpsuit. Neither of us play tennis, but the next morning I had an email from my aunt saying she will be in town for a state tennis tournament in June. Creepy much?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Shout Outs mild freak out

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Trace  |  May 27, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    I hear you. The is no reason why I’m not getting pregnant either.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate  |  May 27, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Dude. Your doc sounds like a real piece of work. It’s always bothered me when my doc has said things like, “And NOW, I’m going to insert a FINGER into your VAGINA.”, ‘cos, I mean, who wants to hear that??? But, after your description, I will enjoy the fact that at least I have some sort of advance warning from my doc… Damn.

    I’m glad that the HSG didn’t uncover anything questionable, but also I can understand the frustration of not having found a definitive reason yet. Suck.

    Reply
  • 3. Io  |  May 27, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Ha! Kate’s comment is cracking me up. Sounds like bad seduction or something.
    Thanks for the shoutout last post. I’m feeling (somewhat) better and am posting again.
    I hope the magic HSG power does its thing.

    Reply
  • 4. annacyclopedia  |  May 27, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I hope the magic HSG power works for you, too. Your doc sounds terrible! I totally prefer the excessive warnings over the rough surprise attacks. And Kate’s comment is going to have me howling next time my butt has been scooched down to the edge of the table…

    And your dream really was creepy.

    Reply
  • 5. annacyclopedia  |  May 30, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Thanks for the hugs! I’m doing better today – a lot of bloggy love, a lot of yelling at Manny last night, and some sleep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

