My weekend

May 14, 2008 at 6:50 pm 1 comment

I don’t know what I was thinking really. It all seemed like a great idea at the time. But once we arrived the cuteness wouldn’t stop.

“You can’t swing a rutabega around here without hitting a cute kid,” my husband joked. I forced a laugh. I tried to block out the little girl singing an i love you song to her dad. Tried not to stare at the barefoot baby taking his first hesitant steps in the grass. I averted my eyes from the smiling woman with the squirming bundle in the sling and found them drifting to the pregnant lady stroking her belly and swaying to the bluegrass band.

“What does a rutabega look like anyways?” he continued. “Does it have greens you can swing it from, like a carrot? Or is it more like a potato? Cause that might cause problems.”

This time the laugh wasn’t forced, but genuine. I sure do love my husband.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I was tagged! (like, a week ago) Shout Outs

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kate  |  May 14, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Yes, what a very good husband. I love to laugh with my man. It makes all the other little irritating crap so worth it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

