Honoring those who died for our country with an HSG

May 7, 2008 at 1:49 pm 6 comments

Well, I finally got some more information other then “you ovulated” from the new doctor extraordinaire. Well, not a lot more information, she doesn’t volunteer a lot of details, but at least an idea of where to go from here.  And the winner is, we’re going to HSG-land!  I’ll be kicking off Memorial Day weekend with a bit of dye injected into my lady bits. I’m not great with pain, but I am fascinated by anatomy, so I have mixed feelings about it. I’m also not a big fan of the new doc so far, and am resisting the urge to switch to another OB-Gyn office. I’m not sure if it’s her I don’t like, or just my personality trait that makes me bounce around from thing to thing to thing until something just feels right. It’s how I wound up living in about 6 homes in 5 years.

There’s also the element of looking for the sliver bullet that will get me knocked up. First it was timing intercourse with my ovulation. I knew when this was because of my cervical mucous. How novel this seems in retrospect!  Then I just knew I would get preggo as soon as I started taking and charting my BBT. Now I am on my second thermometer and this too seems quaint and funny. Then I knew the OPKs would do the trick, after all, the problem must be timing right?  Nah, my Qi was out of whack, so I needed acupuncture and herbs to fix that little dilemma. Will it in fact be the magical tube clearing power of the HSG to get me knocked up?  I can tell you, it’s not going to be timing intercourse, that’s for sure.

In other news, I got in to school!  Woo hoo!!   I’ll be starting in August, taking one class a semester for the next nine years or so. I’ll be majoring in health and wellness and would love to be a gym teacher or work in a health center and help people with nutrition and exercise. So there’s something to look forward to on my horizon!  If I wind up with child, I plan to take a semester off, then go back 3/4 time and use the on campus childcare (only $800 a semester!) and get myself some financial aid. Here’s hoping I get to use that plan!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Unanswered Questions I was tagged! (like, a week ago)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  May 7, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Ooh. HSG-land. I hear that’s an interesting place to go. Never been there myself, but I imagine that I’ll go there some time in the future.

    I’m so excited for you being back in school! Very, very cool! That sounds like a cool path to take. Nutrition is an interesting topic, at least to me, and the on campus childcare sounds awesome at only $800 per semester. So cheap! We have an on campus child development center that’s not too expensive, but as of now, they only take 2 y. o.s and up, not infants. Supposedly they are adding the birth to 24 months program soon, but not yet…

    Reply
  • 2. annacyclopedia  |  May 7, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    You’re so patriotic! Having your lady bits salute your country’s lost soldiers…

    My HSG wasn’t bad – my advice (given to me by my doctor) is to take lots of Advil beforehand. Like 3 or 4. It did hurt, but just for a short time, and afterwards it was just very mildly crampy. I know everyone has a different experience, but mine really wasn’t too terrible.

    Congrats on school! That sounds so great. Makes me kind of pine for university and all the learning and stuff. Sigh.

    Reply
  • 3. annacyclopedia  |  May 8, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    I tagged you for a meme…

    http://annacyclopediaisworkingonit.blogspot.com/2008/05/me-me-me-me-meme.html

    Reply
  • 4. annacyclopedia  |  May 8, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    I tagged you…did I already leave a comment to that effect? I think I need more tea…

    http://annacyclopediaisworkingonit.blogspot.com/2008/05/me-me-me-me-meme.html

    Reply
  • 5. annacyclopedia  |  May 8, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I left the answer to the dilly bar question on my comments just in case anybody else had the same question., but in case you don’t obsessively re-read comments on other people’s blogs, here you go: A dilly bar is a blob of soft serve vanilla ice cream dipped in chocolate and served on a stick. Mmmm, melty.

    Reply
  • 6. Matthew M. F. Miller  |  May 13, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Congrats on school and good luck with your HSG. I’d say on top of the Advil keep plenty of ice cream on hand. It never hurts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

