Unanswered Questions

April 29, 2008 at 12:54 pm 2 comments

[SCENE:  A young woman is dialing the phone in a very stylish orange kitchen. She is also eating chocolate]

MS. FIRST COMES LOVE:  Yes, hello. I had bloodwork done over a week ago and haven’t gotten the results back yet.

NURSE (over phone):  It says here that we have already given you the results in a voice mail.

MS. FCL:  That’s interesting, I don’t have a cell phone and our home line currently has the answering machine disconnected.

NURSE:  Well, we left you a message.

MS. FCL:  I don’t know how,  unless you left one in the after hours mailbox at my office. The mailbox that is accessed by my boss.

NURSE: No, we wouldn’t have done that.

MS. FCL: Well, can you give me the results now?

NURSE:  This says that you did ovulate this month.

MS. FCL:  And?

NURSE: And what?

Ms. FCL: And what should I do now then?

NURSE: Just keep doing what you are doing.

Ms. FCL: Even though I had a 24 day cycle this month, all you can tell me is that I ovulated and to keep at it?

NURSE: Yes.

Ms. FCL: OK. Thanks. I guess.

The young woman hangs up the phone, sighs, and goes outside to check the day’s mail. In the box is a card from the college she is waiting to be accepted or denied entrance to.  She flips the card over and reads:

“We have received your application. It is being processed. You will receive notification of our decision the week of April 14th. “

Her eyes glance up to the postmark of the card. It is April 25th.

[END SCENE]

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

yes, I am a dullard Honoring those who died for our country with an HSG

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  April 29, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Argh! How completely frustrating! Even just reading that, my blood pressure rose a bit. I just HATE when people withold information, or are just obstinant in sharing whatever info. Call them back and ask to speak to someone who knows what they are talking about. Or find a different doctor.

    And dude, you need to call your college’s admissions department right away and ask them what’s up with that. I work for a UNC system school, and some cards that we send out like the one you recieved, are generated from this system called Banner, and most of the UNC constituent schools just began using this system less than a year ago, and so, there are still a million bugs that need to be worked out. I would imagine that automatedly entering the TOTALLY WRONG DATE would be something that could happen.

    What I mean to say is that it could be a database error, and speaking to a human might clear it up.

    Reply
  • 2. annacyclopedia  |  April 29, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Kate already said it, but I’ll say it again. AAAAAARRRRRRGGGGHH!

    That is so absurd. Well captured though, in your little scene. And I’m jealous of your stylish orange kitchen without even seeing it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

