yes, I am a dullard

April 22, 2008 at 7:30 pm 5 comments

Still not much happening round these parts.  I expect I will have more to say when my next round of bloodwork comes back. I’ve been doing a lot of waiting. I had my CD-21 bloodwork scheduled for CD-22, but ovulated a day early, so it was actually CD-23 bloodwork.  Well, still day 22,  but nine days after ovulation. Then I had a 25 day cycle. I am just getting so frustrated with this whole thing.   I would love to throw in the towel and just start up with adoption. Why not? 

Well, the why not is actually a bit petty. A tad bit embarrassing to mention, really. Whenever my husband and I have the adoption talk, it quickly goes to the fact that he would like to adopt an older child. And that is just not something I feel able to do. It is actually something that makes me really uncomfortable. And I am not sure why that is, and what I need to do to get over it. This is something that will take some pondering.

I’ve also been waiting to be accepted or denied my return to academia. I was supposed to get my letter last week, but “because of a record number of transfer applications, the letters are being delayed a week.”  Gah. This dosn’t bode well for me, as my application was not particuarally strong to begin with.

Hubby and I just got back from a lovely four day beach vacation. We ate clams, camped, flew kites, and saw lots of pretty birds. It was just the getaway that we needed.

Lastly, today is Earth Day, and my dad’s birthday. As a kid I was really into Earth Day. I even convinced my principal at my elementary school to let me make daily announcements over the PA about steps that we could take to save the environment. Mostly the whales, and tropical forests. Let me refine that statement. The principal let me make an announcement over the school PA encouraging students to not eat hamburgers from fast food restaurants because the beef was most likely raised on deforested tropical forest land.  I was in the fourth grade. My nerdling status was thusly set in stone.

But since I am still a nerdling, I want to encourage you to introduce three new things into your life that will help the environment. They can be big things, or little things. What will they be?

My things:

  • Eat more local foods. They don’t have to be transported as far, and can help the local economy. It might mean we don’t get a fresh tomato in January, but hell, a fresh tomato in January isn’t very good anyways.
  • Walk more. I already walk the mile to and from work, but it is a little embarrassing how often we get in the car to drive less then a mile for dinner or groceries.
  • Start composting our kitchen waste. I already compost garden waste, so you would thing we would be doing this one too. It’s been a tough nut to crack however, as our kitchen is upstairs and our compost is downstairs, and I am lazy. I’m thinking vermicomposting in a kitchen cabinet will be a good solution to my lazyness.

Off to make some pudding and delicious Chinese sludge tea!  Mmmmmm.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

mmmmm… pudding. And a recipe! Unanswered Questions

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. s.e.  |  April 22, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    I love your inspiration and ideas for earth day. I too could begin to add kitchen garbage to my compost. I hope your waiting for both your cycle and your school application ends soon!

    Reply
  • 2. Trace  |  April 23, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Yes, we go around and around about adoption (not about the age part). We have our homestudy & profile completed and he DOES NOT want to submit to any agencies since he feels very burned by our domestic adoption experience and he’s convinced we would be selected by an expectant mother and learn we were pregnant. He doesn’t think we can afford both. Grrr… Around and around. Nothing decided and frustration mounts w/each negative.

    Reply
  • 3. annacyclopedia  |  April 23, 2008 at 10:16 am

    I love the story of your PA announcement. When I was student council president in grade 7, I had our school declared a nuclear free zone.

    Nerdlings unite!

    As for three new things, I plan to start eating more locally this year (need to stock up the freezer and do canning in summer – otherwise there will be almost no veggies…) and find local meat suppliers that I can buy directly from. I want to come up with a plan to reduce our water consumption, although I think we’re pretty good already. Part of this is that I’d really like a new washing machine that uses less energy and less water – the one that came with the house is on its last legs. But we’ll donate it to the Habitat for Humanity ReStore for refurbishment! I’d also really like to make a plan to drive much less than we do – get hubby riding his bike to work (at least when it’s warm enough and the roads are clear) and start clearly planning errands so that they are all done at once instead of multiple trips (although I already do this myself during the week, the weekends get a bit shot – sudden inspiration strikes and it’s off to Home Depot or Canadian Tire for something…)

    Thanks for the challenge – good to think about these things.
    And I hope your waiting brings you good news on the bloodwork and the admissions fronts.

    Reply
  • 4. annacyclopedia  |  April 23, 2008 at 10:17 am

    I have no idea why there are smiley faces in my comment. I did not do that on purpose…

    weird.

    Reply
  • 5. The Rebound Girl  |  June 14, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    Love the tips. I too should start a compost.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

