mmmmm… pudding. And a recipe!

April 8, 2008 at 6:58 pm 6 comments

Not much going on in First Comes Love Land…  I was less then three’d by the lovely Annacyclopedia which made me feel just splendid, I ovulated early this month, forcing me to recschedule my bloodwork, and my assistant at work quit. (ouch) I’ve also been making a lot of homemade pudding, which I decided to try when I noticed that the pudding mix I got just contained chocolate powder, sugar, and cornstarch. I figured I could just make it myself for less money, with higher quality ingredients, and skip all the packaging. Turns out I was right. Mmmm…. pudding.

I also wanted to share a recipe for the poor Miss Kate who is recovering from gallbladder surgery and needs yummy things to munch on.

But before we get to that, I wanted to share the tale of my new BBT thermometer. You remember the one, the new one that I got when the battery croaked in my old one. Because I’ve used it EVERY DAY for the last two years.

I had been using the new one for about a week when I noticed in my groggy pre-dawn state that it was beeping most pathetically. I switched on the bedside light and saw that this NEW thermometer was flashing the dead battery logo at me. Needless to say, I was a little pissed off, ok, a lot pissed off, that this new thing that I had gotten was already not working properly. Later in the day I investigated it further, and it seemed to be working fine. It hasn’t malfunctioned since.  The truely weird part about this little tale, is that a good friend of mine has just started charting her BBT.

So, her brand new BBT thermometer totally went dead battery on her ass THE SAME DAY AS MINE. And now is working fine. Freaky, no? Different brand.

Pardon my foul language by the way, it must be all the pudding.

Ok, a recipe for Kate! As I may have mentioned before, I try to eat local foods in season, and the asparagus is up in the yard right now, and it just won’t stop. So we are eating this a lot.

Yummy Asparagus Pasta

a bundle of asparagus (about a pound)

Lemon juice (fresh or bottled)

salt

olive oil

1/4 cup grated parmasean cheese OR a block of  soft silken style tofu. You can use either, but your choice will make the dish very different!

pasta of your choice (I love this delish flax pasta. It makes me swoon)

cut the ends off the asparagus and discard. Cut the tips off the asparagus and set aside. Cut the stalks into tiny pieces and add to a small pot of boiling water. Cook for about 7 minutes. Remove from water and set aside. Cook Asparagus tips the same way.

In the meantime, bring a pot of water to a boil and cook the pasta

In a blender or food processor add the cut up asparagus stalks, the lemon juice, between a tablespoon and a 1/4 cup of olive oil, salt to taste, and either the cheese or the tofu. Blend until green and creamy and delicious.

Toss the drained pasta with the sauce, garnish with the tips of the spears. Enjoy!

Stay tuned, soon I will share my recipe for delicious low fat chicken soup of much deliciousness.

Oh, and because it is Tuesday, and I am feeling bold, here is a photo for your enjoyment. I am wearing sunglasses (and a helmet!) so you will never find me. Or recognize me in a crowd. Bwah hahahahaha!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

How quickly everything changes yes, I am a dullard

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annacyclopedia  |  April 8, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    That recipe sounds amazing. I keep meaning to put asparagus in my garden, but can’t find crowns anywhere, only seeds, and the three years it takes to mature just seem so long, so I keep procrastinating. Meanwhile I’d probably be eating asparagus from my garden if I just planted the seeds when I originally bought a packet…

    And I really like the picture, even if it won’t help me pick you out of a crowd.

    Reply
  • 2. Trace  |  April 9, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Sounds GREAT!

    Reply
  • 3. Io  |  April 10, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Yum, that does sound delicious. As does pudding. mmmmm

    Reply
  • 4. kate  |  April 10, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Oh, pudding. Man, I love pudding.

    Mmmm! Thanks for the recipe. I LOVE asparagus, and have been trying to think of a way to use it, and this lovely, simple, flavorful presentation sounds absolutely deelish.

    Yeah, sometimes electronics are freeeeky. I do sometimes think that they are impacted by the electro-magnetic field of the universe, or something.

    And of COURSE your friend will get knocked up before you. Back in my early 20s when the baby-lightbulb first dinged on for me (eesh, SO glad I didn’t have a baby then. Baaaaad time for me…), one of my closest friends got knocked up and then decided to have an abortion and even though I think that it was a perfectly fine decision all things considered, there is this part of me that has always felt like, “damn, she didn’t even want it, and was actively trying to prevent pregnancy, and got pregnant anyway. Me? I want it so bad I can’t stand it, and I can’t have it to save my life.” Fucked up.

    Anyhow, thanks for the blog-shout-out. And now I know if I’m ever walking the streets of my that city and you happen to also be walking around there, wearing shades and a helmet, I’ll TOTALLY recognize you. Yay.

    Reply
  • 5. annacyclopedia  |  April 14, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Thanks for the cheap OPK advice. I will definitely check that out. I saw an ad recently for OPKs that just had replaceable strips, but they don’t seem to have made it onto the shelves here yet.

    Reply
  • 6. Lauren  |  April 19, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Oh, I’ll have to try that pasta recipe. I love any kind of pasta and I love asparagus too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

