The bitch Hope. You know her. I’ve Seen her lurking on your blog.

March 11, 2008 at 6:46 pm 4 comments

Lovely news was had today in First Comes Love-Land. Hubby’s sperm count came back higher then last time!  We were told that it could be higher, but it probably isn’t the reason we are not with child. We’re obviously both thrilled, but a part of me is a little dissappointed. I had really been hoping that his count was serviceable but low. Low enough to explain why we are having a hard time, but high enough for us to be able to feel hopeful about things like IUI. Basically, now the ball is back in my court.

And I am having a hard time dribbling it. Passing it? Throwing it.

Our next step in the plan was for me to have some CD21 bloodwork. This dosn’t happen so much on CD21 as it does happen one week after ovulation. And I ran out of OPK sticks yesterday, on day 14. Yesterday’s test came in mostly positive so my best guess is that today is the big day. I would confirm that with my BBT, but today… my thermometer battery died.

As an aside, I would like to know how many of you have USED UP the battery on your BBT thermometer? There was something so wrong about going to the store and buying a new one. I went to the same store as BBT thermometer #1, and there they were hanging in the exact same place. There was something weird about standing in that asile again. I remembered what it felt like the first time, so full of hope, buying something that would somehow get me knocked up, that this was they key to pregnancy.

Needless to say, I did not get that feeling again. Hope was absent from the scene. Instead I felt a little embarrassed, like a teenager buying condoms.

Back to the subject at hand. The one time it is essential to figure out the exact moment that my stale, dusty, ovary releases an egg, and I am without the two tools that inform me of this miraculous event. Hopefully I will get a rise tomorrow and then I can schedule my appointment with the vampires for my first official IF blood draw.  Here’s to another visit from Hope. I plan on greeting her with wine and chocolate. You?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

winners, counters, and inappropriate emails A day of firsts

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Io  |  March 11, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I have no assvice, but wine and chocolate sound lovely. I’ll send Hope your way as I am done with her for right now.
    I can’t believe you killed the bbt battery. It would be funny it it weren’t so damn sad.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate  |  March 12, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Fuck hope. She’s a lousy bitch.

    And man, you crack me up using up the battery on your BBT thermometer. That is insanely hilarious.

    But I know what you mean about standing in the aisle, feeling a little thrill of daring about buying this thing that will be your key. In my case, it was the ov tests, but now? I’m like, “crap. Which one can I buy that won’t totally break the bank? And will these ever make any difference for me? WHO CARES!” It’s like it’s just become habit now…

    Reply
  • 3. Kate  |  March 13, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Yeah, I totally kicked her off my blog now… you can have her back, if you want her.

    Reply
  • 4. annacyclopedia  |  March 14, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Ahh, wine and chocolate. I’ve really missed them both. Have extra for me, ok?

    And I know Hope is a bitch, but she’s the kind of bitch I like. I’d rather hang out with her and suffer the hangover later than mope around with Despair and Numbness all the time.

    But maybe I’m just saying that today because the sun is shining and enough snow has melted that I can see the top of my garden beds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

