winners, counters, and inappropriate emails

March 4, 2008 at 7:48 pm 3 comments

Ok, so only two of my five readers stepped up to the plate and answered the truths and lies thing. That’s ok, it just means that there’s more points for everyone else. Here’s the truth about the truths:

1. I have an obsession with moving and once moved 5 times in 2 and a half years.

This is true. I love to move. I love new spaces. I love architecture and gardens and painting and remodeling and hanging pictures. We even bought a house, moved in, painted, etc, then sold it nine months later and bought a different house. (ok, that had less to do with enjoying moving and more to do with having a mortgage we couldn’t handle and needing a cheaper house. But I still love moving!)

2. I met my husband when I was all covered with mud and guck at a music festival, he saw through the grime and loved me anyway. Two years later we said our vows on the exact spot where we met.

This is also true. Mostly anyway, we physically MET about 100 yards away from where the ceremony was held, but we spent the night getting to know one another on the exact spot where we said our vows. There’s even a photo of us, taken from the main stage, moments before we met, floating around on the Internet.

3. Wal-Mart gives me panic attacks

So true, and based on the fact that no one guessed it was a lie, I am guessing the situation is the same for you and needs no more explanation.

4. I have a tattoo of my dog on my right ankle

The first lie!  I am sorry Internet, but it was so easy. I adore my dog though, and even if you knew me very well you might think that this was true. I don’t have any tattoos, but if I were to get one, a cute little cartoon version of my puppy might be a good way to go.

5. I am a hardcore vegetarian

Another lie! I am a meat eating carnivore, but I only eat local meat where I am certain of the origins. Lucky for me that is very affordable and easy where I live. Most of the restaurants even serve meat from local farms. My localness spreads to veggies too, I try to not eat too much out of season produce trucked in from far away lands. This is a reletively new thing for me after I saw the film the Global Banquet and read Animal Vegetable Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. It’s not hard and it saves you a bit of money on your grocery bill!

6. I’ve only been behind the wheel of a car twice since Thanksgiving.

The last truth. I don’t like driving much, and my husband LOVES it. So he shuttles me around. It’s great.

Both of my guessers are big winners!  Kate and Annacyclopedia both win 5 coveted Kate points. Congrats!  (I hope it’s ok that I am giving out someone else’s points…. now that I really think about it, it’s a little like using someones toothbrush without asking. So sorry…)

In IF news of the day, darling husband got to make a deposit today for some swimmer counting. I had forgotten about the appointment, and remembered after I got to work. Since I am the responsible one in charge of these sorts of things, I called him at home to remind him. Turns out he was right in the middle of “the act.” WHOOPS. I’m sure the ringing phone didn’t help matters much. He spent the evening tonight bemoaning how difficult it was. I reminded him that I get to have my BLOOD drawn later the month and then will most likely get an IUI and an HSG, and neither of them will get to end with an orgasam.

We’ll find out his count in a few days. Of course I want his count to be higher then last time, but part of me also hopes that it isn’t, so that we might at least have an idea of why I am not pregnant and can move forward.

I’ve been getting baby-stuff emails from Amazon lately. Hmmm… I purchased some OPKs off their site about nine months ago and now I am getting daily baby stuff emails from them. Obviously there are no stirrup queens on staff there in the bulk email department.

I’ll close this with a photo from our evening walk, taken a few minutes after an amazing all day storm moved out

.

img_0896.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

day of much yuck The bitch Hope. You know her. I’ve Seen her lurking on your blog.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. annacyclopedia  |  March 5, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Woo hoo! I’m so excited that I won! Even though I only got one right…

    Beautiful photo, too.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate  |  March 6, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    WOOHOO! I get 5 of my own points back! Awesome. And yeah, you can totally give out Kate points if you want. Though it would’ve been more exciting to get some LCF points…

    That’s okay. There’s always next time.

    And I know that at some point in the future, you will come out from underneath your veil of anonymity just enough to meet me for a beer or something. Or maybe meet me for a chocolate covered seasalt caramel instead? Hmm? Can I redeem my hard earned points for that?

    We can just pretend to accidentally show up at the same place and be interested in the same kind of things. I’ll just start talking really loudly about my husband having to drop off a sperm sample for our IF diagnosis, and then you can chime in, and your husband will know none the better and we can pretend that we were just meeting in real life for the first time. I mean, I’d settle for a wave from a passing car the next time I’m visiting my friend in the city whose mention would give away your locale because of which I will not mention, etc., if that is what you are comfortable with.

    Um, okay. End of pressure. No real pressure implied, just trying to see what my points might really purchase, eh? And people kinda suck here where I live, so I’m always on the lookout for normal people who are in places where I sometimes go, you know?

    And damn. What a pretty photo. I don’t get to have evening walks because the banshees that drive down my street would run over me without even the slightest slowdown since we have no sidewalks, narrow streets and no shoulder and assholes and teenagers that live in the neighborhood behind us. Suck. I could just march around my .5 acre meadow over and over again. ‘Cos that sounds like fun. But I could probably get some decent pictures. Maybe.

    Um, yeah. So that’s enough of the blog hijacking. I’m feeling better now, and thus have to cram a week’s worth of comments into one response. Sorry.

    Reply
  • 3. Io  |  March 7, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    I simply can’t do any more of the truth lie things – I was developing an ulcer from thinking about them and decided which to pick and then waiting to see if I was wrong and then usually being wrong…it was just all too much for my delicate flower self to take.

    Now I am jealous of Kate and of you that you might live near each other.

    What is it with men acting like giving a sperm sample is so difficult? My husband put off going for a couple months and then complained afterwards about having had to do it. Granted, he has since willingly gotten his b-a-l-l-s cut on, so I have to cut him some slack now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

