happy good appointmenting

February 20, 2008 at 1:54 am 2 comments

Busy day today!

After work I walked home quickly – it had gotten cold – and printed out the last year of our ttc efforts from fer.tility fri.end to bring to the shiny *new* doctor.  It was a bit humbling to see all those sheets come out of the printer and know that each one represented a hope for a future addition to the family. Every month when we ttc I mentally add nine months and figure when my due date would be, what sign the baby would be, what Chinese animal year they would be born in, what size sweaters i would need to knit for their first winter. Then I go backwards. What time of year would it be when I was officially too huge to work in the garden? Go kyaking? Hiking? Backwards some more… When would I start to outgrow my current clothes? The clothes I have saved from when I was 20 lbs heavier? Is it worth the $35 to buy this cute summer dress on super sale from last season? If I get pregnant now will I get to wear it? WILL BUYING THIS DRESS MAKE ME PREGNANT? If I get pregnant now what holiday is coming up where I can send my parents a “world’s best grandparents” mug w/ a sonagram photo on it?

I’ve gone through all the seasons more then once. When I got to last February (our Christmas baby, we could dress it up like a little elf and having him or her around would just make Christmas so much Christmassyer!) I called it quits and jumped in the car to drive about a mile and a half to the doctor’s office.

I think it was teen pregnancy day in there. They were all texting, their hands rested on their swollen bellies. I thought about making a general announcement, “OK, I know you can’t all be keeping your babies. You’ve seen Juno. It’s very hip these days to give your baby to a nice infertile couple, ” and then introduce myself to each of them individually. Instead I sat in the corner and stuck my nose in my book and waited my turn.

All in all, I liked the new doctor. She was quick and to the point. She has dogs. She was psyched that I was doing accupuncture and was responding well to it. Unlike my last doctor she wasn’t a drug pusher. Also unlike my last doctor, she didn’t think hubby’s sperm analysis was all that great. Which leads me to…

THE PLAN OF ACTION (it’s short and simple and probably dosn’t require a bullited list, but I like bullited lists so here we go)

  • Hubby gets another sperm analysis. If his count is lower then last time we move right to IUI while we still have a chance to use his swimmers
  • Regardless of his count we start doing happy things to improve the number of swimmers he produces.
  • I will be getting some CD 21 bloodwork next cycle to check something. I’m not totally positive what
  • If I’m not knocked up in three months I get to have an HSG! I hear they are a blast so I am really looking forward to that.
  • Keep doing accupuncture and drinking herbs

Speaking of which, the tea kettle is calling my name. (yes, my name is TWEEEEET!) Happy good babymaking to everyone out there in IF land. May your copulation be out of love, not just requirement.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

“O” yeah prepare your intuition

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  February 20, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    I do the same thing with counting the seasons, though generally it’s more like, “Well, Heiko and I want to go to Germany, but preferably not in the winter time. And I can’t travel (at least not on a transatlantic flight) during the last three months of pregnancy or likely the first three months of baby, so that blocks out six months right there. It’d be nice to go before a baby, but with relatives over there, it’d be really nice to go after the baby, but we SO can’t afford to drop everything and take off to Germany several times a year, so WHEN do we plan this trip??? Will buying a plane ticket get me knocked up???”

    Anyhow, it sounds like you’ve found a really positive person to work with on your fertility. At least to me, it makes all the difference in the world to have a good doc on your side, esp. one that is supportive of non-western, non-drug methods of assistance.
    And I, too, hear that HSGs are a total RIOT! It’s like a party in your uterus! (Erm, perhaps more like a mosh pit with a bunch of drunk beknived Berliner street punks, maybe. Some people aren’t bothered at all and some people end up really, really hurt). Feh. Here’s hoping you can avoid it.

    Reply
  • 2. annacyclopedia  |  February 22, 2008 at 12:41 am

    I just found you right this second and I love you! Because of this last bullet from your Feb.6 post: I fancy myself a toughgirl hipster. I really am a weepy nerd who likes puzzles.

    Me too. I can’t stop laughing. I think I want to get that as a tattoo.

    I just had an HSG last month and it wasn’t too bad. My doctor told me to take lots of Advil beforehand, so I took 3. 4 might have been even better, but it just felt like strong period cramps to me. Although looking at the instruments was not helpful at all. I didn’t know they had to pinch your cervix! I tried to suggest that they could just nudge it a bit, but alas.

    Your new doctor sounds good so hopefully she will be gentle if you end up getting the HSG.

    So glad to have found you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

