“O” yeah

February 13, 2008 at 1:30 am 4 comments

Here we are, face to face with another CD 15. It seems like the last one was just yesterday. I am celebrating another fairly “normal” ovulatory cyle (this makes three in the last year!) which I again attribute to my good friend Chinese Medicine.

To celebrate this momentious occasion, I brewed myself a big cup o’ Chinese herbs and made myself a new mast head to replace the boring one that wordpress came with. Photo.shop crashed at the end, so I had the pleasure of creating it twice and I forgot to drink my herbs until now that I have mentioned them. They are delightfully room temperture.

Am I being scarcastic? I can’t even tell myself anymore. I am in a nice happy mood though.

Exciting things on the horizon:

  • A week from today I have an appointment with a new doctor. I plan to beg for what I want (diagnosis) and deny what I am not prepared for (drugs.)
  • I applied for 4 new jobs last week. As I have briefly touched upon, my boss is a big jerkface who has mentioned that he will fire me when I inevitably announce that I am knocked up. He dosn’t know that we have been trying really hard to be knocked up, just thinks it will happen eventually me being 27 and married and all. I need to not talk about my boss here, because he is a bonafied asshat and once those floodgates open it will be hard to close them again. Maybe more when I get a new job someday. It will be worth waiting for.  One of the jobs is a position with the city that comes with fantastic benefits. My health insurance currently stinks, so anything would be an improvement. My accupuncturist mentioned that I might be better off if he fires me, our family income would drop below the maximum allowed to qualify for state insurance. I’d rather just get the city job.
  • Wow, that was a really long bulleted point.
  • There is potential that I will play a song with my friend’s band at an actual gig. I took piano lessions for 12 years and am not currently putting them to good use.
  • I have a whole bunch of vacation days saved up and we are planning a vacation. We need to do something low budget and close to home. Not sure what that will be yet.
  • I am going to try to make my own cheese this weekend.

If getting knocked up is not in my near future, I have an idea brewing to keep my mind occupied. It involves a hobby of mine that I haven’t dabbled in in a long time – documentary film making. More on that later.

Some random things to be greatful for:

  • Spring will be here soon. The equinox is next month!  We are enjoying the warm days by tackling a large garden project that turns the last 1/3 of our yard that is still lawn into garden space.  There will be very little grass to cut with the push mower next summer.
  • Some folks whose IF blogs I’ve followed for a long time are pg.
  • My puppy is soft and full of love
  • I finished our taxes!
  • ABC.com is running episodes of My So Called Life on Fridays and I get to enjoy swoon-worthy moments like this:
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Lifting the veil a bit happy good appointmenting

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate  |  February 13, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Fuck asshat bosses. Good on you for trying to find a new job. I’m not yet motivated enough to try to find a better job, since in fantasy-land, I’ll be quitting my job as soon as possible and sitting around all day watching Oprah and eating bon-bons.

    You should consider touring wineries in the Yadkin Valley area. It’s inexpensive, easy and pretty driving, and a lot of vineyards will be coming out with their new vintage in the next couple of months. If you haven’t been to RagApple Lassie, that’s one you shouldn’t miss. It’s very low key, very laid back, not too fancy, etc. There’s various different bed and breakfast type places that aren’t too terribly expensive in that area.

    Or you could try visiting the Goat Lady, to make cheese there, if that floats your boat.

    We are so in the midst of gardening ourselves. I keep trying to convince H that we WILL have an actual vegetable garden this year, but I don’t think he’s as into it as I am. But I am known to be a forceful individual at times, so I bet I’ll get my way.

    And yes, that was a long bullet point. Go you!

    And YAY for piano! Using one’s music lessons is always fun. Have fun with it. It sounds like it will be a cool experience.

    And Ummmmmm. Yeah. Still sososo in love with My So Called Life. I hate that it ever went off the air and am excited that it is at least showing in re-runs on network tv. Awesome.

    Reply
  • 2. Kate  |  February 14, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Oh, and I meant to say it before, but I’m digging your new banner, too. Very nice.

    Reply
  • 3. Io  |  February 14, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    My so called life is on tv? Be still my heart. I’m scared if I start watching it will ruin my idyllic memories of it though…
    You totally need to get a new job. My boss is tough, but he’s all about me having kids – he wants me to keep working though and just set up a playpen in the office. We’ll see how that goes.

    Reply
  • 4. Io  |  February 14, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Ha. If I ever get pregnant that is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

