Health Insurance Catch 22

January 10, 2008 at 6:02 pm 1 comment

One of the reasons I have been hesitant to start down the road of IF treatments is my health insurance situation. It’s not pretty.

My husband is self employed, and I work for a very small company that does not have a group plan. I pay for personal insurance out of pocket. The large (national) company that provides me with my insurance makes you pay extra for maternity coverage, so I am paying for that as well. If you are unlucky enough to get knocked up without the maternity coverage, nothing related to the pregnancy is covered. No ultrasounds, no hospital stay, no emergency c-sections, no postnatal care.

I signed up for the maternity coverage back in the blissful, early days of TTC. Back then I wasn’t smart enough to ask if the maternity coverage would cover any IF treatments. Needless to say, it does not. Neither policy has perscription drug coverage either.

Now I’ve been hanging out in this neighborhood long enough to know that IF treatment ain’t cheap.

We aren’t poor by any means, but we are on the lean end of middle class. The part that is getting squeezed by the suffering economy right now. When we first had the “talk” and started TTC, we knew it would be a little tight financially, but we could do it. We have some money saved, but it’s barely enough to cover a few rounds of Clo.mid / IUI’s, let alone enough for even one round of IVF. And that money is supposed to cover the period that I am not working because we’ve just had a child. Now, if I wasn’t paying out the wazoo for health insurance, there might be a little extra cash to pay for health care. Hence the catch 22. I need the insurance in case I become pg, but I can’t afford IF treatments and the insurance, too.

Of course, my boss has also threatened to fire me if I wind up with child, but that’s a whole ‘nother catch 22. Of course, if I was without job then we would drop below the income limit to qualify for state maternity coverage, so maybe that wouldn’t be such a bad thing?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

the West vs. East showdown Waiting for the Big “O”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kate  |  January 12, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Hi, and thanks for commenting on my blog! I appreciate it. I think I understand a bit of what you’re talking about here. My husband is a professor, and makes decent money, and I work with compuers, and make sorta decent money, but unless I want to substantially change my lifestyle (and my lifestyle is definitely not extravagant in any way), I’ll never be able to afford most, if any, ARTs. And frankly, the decision to move in that direction seems to be really easy for some, but I’m still struggling with the various things that are (for lack of a better term) ethical issues to me. I envy people who easily and readily just leap right in to that next step, but I don’t see that being me any time soon.

    And screw your boss for wanting to fire you. You have specific employment retention rights under the FMLA, unless you work for a really small employer. (Ooh, that was incredibly US-centric of me- I suppose you could be from any number of other countries where, perhaps, US legislation might not cover you, eh? I haven’t read your “about you” yet to see if you say where you’re from…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

