the West vs. East showdown

January 6, 2008 at 11:06 pm 1 comment

I started seeing an acupuncturist a few months ago. This was going to be my last attempt at getting pregnant before I started pulling out the bigger guns. (Clo.mid and IuI’s)

The deadline my doctor set was the end of November. I decided to give myself until the start of 2008.

Yah, I’ve looked at the calendar.

How long can you keep saying “One more month, then I’ll try something new”?

I don’t know why I am so hesitant to start w/ Western medical intervention. My body responded really badly to BC pills, and I think I am just plain scared to take Clo.mid out of fear that I’ll turn into the raving lunatic again that I was on the pill. While I’m not a big fan of the acupuncture sessions, I like the results. It has all but eliminated the debilitatingly painful cramps that have plagued me since I was 12. It has cleared my skin. It has made it easier to deal with stress. I want to believe in it, to keep giving it time.

But how do you know when to move on?

Entry filed under: alternative medicine. Tags: .

Even the fictional movie characters are knocked up Health Insurance Catch 22

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Annelies  |  May 23, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Understand totally what you mean.

    Just one more month, I keep saying to myself. One more try.
    Cause maybe this is all I need? Just some needles and some ugly smelling herb tea…

    I suppose it’s all in our mind. The step-by-step planning. If plan A fails, there’s only B left. And that’s why we don’t want to give up on plan A.

    I would say, keep on going if it eases the mind. It can only support all other things you’re trying. And at least it’s that little bit of hope we’re going for 😉

    Annelies

    PS: Suppose you don’t list blogs in an other language – but if yes, it would be nice. There’s so few of us who do talk about it. It’s called ‘waiting for a baby’ and it’s one of the few ones in Dutch on infertility

    http://wachtenopeenbaby.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

After 5 IUIs, 2 IVFs, and the diagnosis of diminished ovarian reserve at the ripe old age of 29, I am now looking for information on embryo donation and adoption. I'm taking a break from blogging but will return when our path out of the world of IF becomes more clear.

